We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ali Raj

The Ali Raj
65-67 Canterbury Road, Westbrook CT9 5AS, England
+44 1843 297151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Westbrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to The Ali Raj while passing through, service was excellent nothing too much trouble, food was very good, even packed up what my guest left for them to take home. Go find out for yourself !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service is poor!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have been going to The Ali Raj for well over 20 years, at times weekly as we lived in Broadstairs, the food has always been excellent with apart from the odd crazy busy night service calls ok .
In the last month we visited There twice as we were over that way. One the first night at least 10 people walked out that's after ordering and waiting far to long for food. On my next visit again service not as it should be. Far too many takeaway orders which in turn effects your sit down customers.
There is not enough waiting staff for size of restaurant on busy nights.
In nutshell would we go again of course we would , if it was not for waiting time to get drinks, food and the bill would have given it 5 stars.
So Ali get some more staff in as you will do long term damage to your sit down trade ......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Taste buds on fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Best curry house around
Good staff very friendly
Good portion size had a damask my favourite
Gets busy but lots of room

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Recently I went to Ali raj,it was amazing.All the staff was very friendly.specially their 10.95 is a fantastic offer.Incase of my view their food is excellent and reasonable price. I will suggest all my friend to have dinner or party in Ali raj . Also they do take away service with 20% discount collection only.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Visiting margate today for the first time in 14 years. Looked online for somewhere to eat and saw the Ali raj listed. It had good reviews so we went.

Ali raj lived up to all the reviews. It's one of the best meals I've had in a long time If your in margate and want fab Indian food with great service and superb value this is the place to go to

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ali Raj also viewed

 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Ali Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ali Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.