We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go straight to Kali Zeera, it's the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kali Zeera

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kali Zeera
41 Quarry Hill Road, Tonbridge TN9 2RS, England
(01732) 350308 or 359877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 69 Restaurants in Tonbridge
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Londone
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go straight to Kali Zeera, it's the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family has been visiting Kali Zeera for over ten years and it's the most consistently high quality restaurant in the area. I've tried all the local Indian restaurants over the past 20 years and this one, as many other people do, is the one I keep coming back to.

The staff are dedicated, friendly and never pushy. Food here is a very high standard and well priced. If you go in at 6pm or 10pm you'll get a warm welcome, good service and a very fine meal. Nice variety of dishes and the staff take pains over service.

Lots of families go there and the staff always treat the kids with respect which is the thing that just sets Kali Zeera apart from other restaurants.

Also, would highly recommend for business people who want to take clients out to entertain.

If you can't manage a sit down meal, worth phoning in your order and picking up a collect meal. Quality is tops and the meal will be well packaged & hot.

Hope this helps and enjoy your meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My favourite Tonbridge 'Indian' restaurant i have been using it for many years, although sometimes unfortunately 'quiet' the food is excellent the staff very friendly and the prices very reasonable, i would highly recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This great Indian restaurant his existed in Tonbridge long than I have! My big brother brought me to the restaurant as a child and subsequently I have been going ever since.

There is a very large selection of dishes. I tend to go for the Chicken Makahni or the Goan Lamb Shank which are very flavoursome without being overly hot.

The guys that run it really know how to give service with a smile, especially the older ones as they've been there forever!

Place could do with an update on the decor, but apart from that it's perfect.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“this IS the best Indian restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Myself and my wife and friends have eaten at and had takeaways from Kali Zeera over several years and the quality, service and consistent reliability is exactly as the first reviewer describes. Food is always good and the takeaways are easily better than any other locally. We have had this endorsed by many of our friends too. We live just off Tonbridge High street and have experienced ALL of the places listed here. Some of the reviews are extremely spurious or some peoples' standards are incredibly low. Antonias and Mamma Mia are both mediocre at best and we feel that Kali Zeera knocks Ali Shan into a cocked hat. However I don't want to just write slagoffs so "caveat emptor"
Keep up the good work Kali Zeera

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best indian restaurant in Tonbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Having visited all of the Indian restaurants in this area, I keep returning to the Kali Zeera. It's far far better in my opinion than the apparently highly rated Alishan at the other end of the high street, and the Turmeric Gold in nearby Tudeley, both in terms of food and value for money. You're always well looked after after by the friendly staff, and the food is excellent.

If I had one criticism it's that the place lacks soft furnishings - although it's very comfortable there is nothing to soak up excess noise, which means that it can feel very loud if you are in there and there is a large group sitting on another table.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kali Zeera also viewed

 

Been to Kali Zeera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kali Zeera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.