We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in the garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carpenters Arms

The Carpenters Arms
Three Elm Lane, Tonbridge TN11 0AD, England
+44 1732 850307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 68 Restaurants in Tonbridge
Cuisines: English, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped off here while driving through Kent and sat in the back garden. We decided to order food and it quickly arrived. My steak and ale pudding was the biggest I've ever seen and tasted delicious. I couldn't finish it which was a shame as I really wanted a dessert. The chunky chips that arrived with it were very yummy. My partners Ploughmans looked great too with a huge chunk of cheese. There were plenty of dishes on the menu to try.

We were told drinks couldn't be brought out to the garden for us when we ordered food, but one of the waiting staff brought them out with our food which was nice. Staff were polite and helpful and we easily set up a tab for the afternoon.

We visited about 2pm on the bank holiday Monday and there were tables free and a cheerful atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    18
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will be avoiding for the foreseeable future!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited on a reasonably busy Friday evening. We'd booked a table and ordered around 8pm. Accoustics in the restaurant are terrible due to the slate floor, so ended up shouting across the table all evening. The soup was cold so got sent back to be reheated. We then waited 40 mins for mains, 3 of which were inedible when they finally arrived. Difficult to find any waiting staff. No one asked if we wanted drinks or if everything was ok the entire evening. Complained to the manager who informed me they were very busy, all meals were cooked to order and they had a new head chef. To which my response was 'if the kitchen can't cope, don't take the bookings.' All waiting staff were in jeans and t shirts, very casual and unprofessional. The manager willingly took off 3 mains and 3 puddings from the bill when I complained. Which begs the question, how often do they have to do that?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West malling
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Saved the evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a disastrous start at another restaurant in the area, we tried, albeit after 9.00pm, the Carpenters Arm's, no problems a table was found, a lovely warm welcome and seated quickly. Pub food but good pub food, well cooked and tasty and always something a little different on the menu (the lamb tagine and couscous was lovely). Service was quick, efficient and really very pleasant. A lovely evening with good food, good service and pleasant ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good drink, pretty garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Took the girlfriend out here on a sunny afternoon a couple of weeks back. Pours a decent pint and the garden looked great. There were plenty of seats, we sat under this trellis/pagoda structure surrounded by flowers, my gf loved the roses and it added to the atmosphere.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Slapdash service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food was OK but service was bad. The waiters had no idea how to their job and there seemed to be no effective management of the staff.
Very disappointing, the menu items aren't cheap. Just not good enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carpenters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.