We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was ok.. Service Excellent.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chaser Inn

The Chaser Inn
Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
+44 1732 810360
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chaser Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 64 restaurants in Tonbridge
Price range: $34 - $51
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop directly opposite the pub as well as main line train stations in Borough Green and Tonbridge which are both approximately 10 mins drive.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food was ok.. Service Excellent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

For the price we paid, the food seemed a bit lackluster and not very cared about. I had the fish & it looked no different from one you would find in a box in your local supermarket. & it wasn't even cooked that well, My wife was disappointed with the lack of vegetarian meals. Although we did have a very friendly attentive water, I believe his name was carl or karl. He couldn't have done anything better for us, He helped us through the menu and spoke to chef about making a vegetarian meal, He was a reason to return. Whereas the food isnt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    72
    70
    40
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything good apart from new manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

i went with my partner Wednesday,we arrived it looked beautiful,i asked the manager if any table was free,to that he replyed look yourself and walked off,we felt he was rude and unhelpful,this would never happened under the old management,but the food was lovely and other employees very welcoming,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this Pub, BUT.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

As a family we eat at The Chaser at least once a month and in addition visit the pub (restaurant?) with friends at least as often. I have always loved it. Great atmosphere, great service and lovely food. However, we went last weekend for a late minute Sunday lunch and the new manager was incredibly unhelpful - when I asked if there was a table free he told me to have a look in the conservatory as "probably" a table would become free soon! When I asked him how long he thought it would be till one was available he declared he didn't know... I then asked if there were any tables free in the main restaurant. He said no (without checking), so I was extremely surprised to find two empty tables in the main restaurant. Annoying to say the least.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from the Chaser With friends, Not one single vegetarian meal on the menu.
very poor show for my wife, being a vegetarian , she had Fish & Chips so as not to cause a Fuss and not cooked very well ( soggy fish & the chips ).and expensive at £ 9-95 for a half portion !!!
overall we thought expensive for the quality of food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After a two hour cross country trek, The Chaser inn was a welcome respite on a beautiful autumn Saturday afternoon for a late lunch.
The pub is very picturesque and is a great blend of traditional country pub and modern gastro. The menu is varied. We went for the fish and chips (small portion is big enough!) and were not disappointed. Some of our party had eaten there before so knew the ropes. I'm told the lamb shoulder is superb and big enough to share.
Desserts were good although ice cream on a slate while trendy, can be a bit messy.
The service was perfect and our waitress was attentive and pleasant (even if we did have to wait a while to pay!) at a busy time.
It is child friendly (we had our three and half year old grandson with us) with a selection of kids portions.
Dogs also seem to be welcome.
Well worth the visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chaser Inn also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Chaser Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chaser Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.