We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Beach Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added London Beach Country Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Road, St Michaels, Tenterden TN30 6HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“something lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room was good with a great view over the golf course.
i think what is lacking is atmosphere in the bar and dining area in the evening which could be to do with the lighting (too bright) its better during the natural light of the day although it made playing rummicub with my wife a little better.
Its a good location if you wish to vist the Chapel Down vinyard which was my birthday treat - £10 taxi ride.
Would go back to this hotel but would not be excited at the prospect.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you wish to see the golf couse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    102
    31
    27
    9
See reviews for
34
119
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fantastic value on the 3 for 2 deal, staff were friendly and helpful. Lunch in the spa area was fresh and very tasty. Very large room with beautiful view. Slightly dated bar/restaurant area but very clean. Amazing facial and dry floatation (included in price). Definitely will return with my friends for another great value spa break. Thank you London Beach!!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel had all the promise of a great experience but was sadly let down by the indifferent serive to the point of rudeness. The only exception to this was the staff of the spa and one lady receptionist. The decor is in need of an update - since when has it been on trend to have dusty fake flowers crammed into every possible space? The 1980's dado rails and patterned wallpaper made me wonder when Alan Partridge was going to pop out! The room was very large, comfortable and clean so no moans there. However the balcony outside running along all the rooms meant that a racous golf gang of guys ruined our sleep for the whole night and then were up at 6am to make sure we had no sleep whatsoever. A call to the night porter to complain and get them to be shut up revealed that no-one appeared to be on duty. Just as well it wasn'ty a real emergency! A request for a loo roll took thirty mins and three requests to staff - just as well that wasn't an emergency either! And why was the golf shut at 4pm, the range broken and the putting park closed? My son took his clubs all the was from Glasgow to play and didn't get so much as a put!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the golf course - good views, but just check you're not nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wow what a place!! We had an excellent overnight stay courtesy of one of their 'promotions'. Our room overlooked the superb golf course, the room itself was huge, very clean and above expectation. The Spa facilities are tremendous and would highly recommend using these. We also booked beauty treatments which we found very good value for money......and the food? to die for, exquisite and very varied. The staff were very very friendly,welcoming and helpful. I cannot recommend this place enough. It was a brilliant spa break for my friend and I and we have come away very relaxed and happy and would strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We came back again as we had such a good time the first time. It was equally good.Friendly staff throughout, lovely receptionist.
We used the spa and played golf, the staff at golf were brilliant and even found my mobile phone that I had unknowingly dropped, and then came to ask if I had lost one.Thank you all, we will look out for your terrific offers, and be back again with even more friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked this break for myself and a friend as her birthday treat. We arrived at 2.30pm to be told our room was not ready. Went in to Tenterden for a couple of hours which was very nice. When we finally did get to our room the only redeeming feature was the view, the rest really needs an update as it is like something from the 1970's! Had dinner, also very nice, could not fault the food. In the morning I asked if it were possible that we could leave our bags in the room until 11.15 (check out is at 11) as we were having treatments until 11, she said "no we are full, you need to remove your belongings from the room", charming, especially as they had cost us an extra £120. When I went to settle the bill I was told I owed another £30 for dinner (we had an inclusive package) when I questioned this, she said "you must have had something extra", to which I replied we only had tap water, then I was told "I will split it" to which I said "not the point is it, we did not have any "extras". I would never return to this hotel again. Front of office staff should be friendly, happy and obliging, unfortunately, at the London Beach Hotel this is not the case, not even a "thank you or goodbye as we left".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath west sussex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

fantastic food lovely staff couldnt fault anything was great relaxing weekend everywhere was very clean beauty treatments was lovely all very friendly would defiantly come stay again thanks so much for all the hospitality

Room Tip: we had lovely room at front looked onto golf course with lovely balconay room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Beach Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Beach Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Ashford Road, St Michaels, Tenterden TN30 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Beach Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Beach Country Hotel has a magnificent adults only Spa with expert beauticians to pamper you and all the latest treatments available. It also has a beautiful parkland golf course. There is a health club at London Beach but the gym and fitness area are for members only. The hotel offers affordable luxury. It is situated just two minutes from the historic market town of Tenterden , fifteen minutes from Rye and twenty minutes from Ashford International Station, within easy reach of the M 20 motorway and the channel ports.As Tenterden's premier hotel it offers outstanding facilities including spacious bedrooms with private balconies and free high speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms. The hotel's restaurants offer a wide choice of menus catered by our award-winning chefs. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure our friendly staff will meet your every need.For the perfect Break with your partner or friends. No decisions needed the choice is so wide. Combine a Golf Break with a Spa Break or one of the many options available from horse riding to flying breaks. Please note: The Luxury Spa with its saline hydrotherapy & swimming pools is available for £25 pp surcharge on non Spa packages, there is no separate hotel pool for hotel guests, but guests are welcome to pay this surcharge and turn their stay into a spa break. Spa Facilities are for adults only with a 21+ requirement, children are not allowed in the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your London Beach Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Beach Country Hotel And Spa
London Beach Country Hotel Tenterden
Best Western Tenterden
Tenterden Best Western
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa Tenterden, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.