We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ransley Barn Cottages

Ransley Barn Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenterden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ransley Barn Cottages
Save
You added Ransley Barn Cottages to your Saves list
Ashford Road | High Halden, Tenterden TN26 3LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Roeselare
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than we expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were made very welcome by Elaine. My son loved de little ducks in the pond.
The leaflets were very handy. The cottage is small but very well organised and well equipped.I would recommend the cottage to couples who love the country and to single parents withe a child, like me!:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we arrived at Mallard cottage we knew we would enjoy our week there, Elaine and Malcolm made us very welcome the cottage had all the facilities we would expect and more, we will definitely recommend to family and friends. thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

My partner, infant son, sister and my sister's partner all stayed in one of the cottages at Ransley Barn and had a lovely and very comfortable stay. We were welcomed with delicious chocolate brownies, homemade jam and some locally produced apple juice which was a lovely touch (especially appreciated as we arrived quite late at night with a small baby!). The cottage was warm and cosy, complete with wood stove!

I would recommend the cottages to anyone who wants a relaxing weekend or week away. There are lovely walks and the pub in the village also serves nice food and has a homely atmosphere! All in all, the cottage gave us everything we needed and we had a lovely, relaxing weekend!

Rachel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed in Mallard Cottage at Ransley Barn in September 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was comfortable and very well equipped and made an ideal base for exploring a delightful part of Kent. The welcome basket was much appreciated and Elaine could not do enough for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were made very welcome on arrival. The cottage is beautiful and very well equipped. The welcome basket - especially the chocolate brownies were a wonderful touch.

The location was very central for us as we were interested in exploring the south eastern corner of England a bit.

Booklets in the cottage can help with planning trips out if you hadn't made plans before hand.

The farm shop on the Appledore is great: higly recommend the venison sausage and steak and kidney pies.

We had a very pleasant stay and I would recommend Ransley Cottages to anyone!

Ruth Van Wyk

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Elaine and Malcolm offer a lovely friendly self catering getaway just outside High Halden, near Tenterden. I think they may just have thought of everything to ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay, from a well equipped kitchen, complimentary local jam and apple juice, milk, tea and coffe etc., free Wi-Fi to games and an extensive list of local attractions.
The cottages are clean and fresh and all facilities have been tastetfully provided.
There is a lovely heated swimming pool right outside the cottage.
The small lake behind the cottages holds a plethora of forna and flaura although you have to be careful not to let your dog too close.
The cottages back onto a public footpath that can take you in varying directions
There are pubs, restaurants and supermarkets within 2 miles and some in walking distance - but if in need of a pub lunch (The Chequers, The Fat Ox, or The Bull Inn are all within walking/hiking distance) make sure you get there before 2.00pm as all of them shut their kitchens around this time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ransley Barn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ransley Barn Cottages

Address: Ashford Road | High Halden, Tenterden TN26 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes drive from Tenterden, our two charming self catering cottages each have a double or twin bedroom, shower room, lounge (with double sofa bed if required), kitchen area and private patio. Both overlook a large natural pond. We have a heated swimming pool which guests can use. Pets are welcome and we have direct access from our garden onto the public footpath network. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ransley Barn Cottages Tenterden, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ransley Barn Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.