We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely hotel & bar, will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Lion to your Saves list
White Lion
High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“what a lovely hotel & bar, will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

had a lovely one night stay, fantastic four poster bed lovely room, lovely big clean bathroom, the only downside was we where at the front of the hotel above the main bar, it was a warm October night and the smokers and outside drinkers where very loud, but the food was great had alovely time, would ask for a rear room next time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
111
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a pity that some people feel the need to complain about the most petty things. If you dont like creaking floorboards and awkward angles, go and find a cheap chain motel. On the other hand, if you appreciate excellent food in a characterful traditional English Inn situated in one of the loveliest towns in the Kent Wealds, then go ahead and book a room and a meal here and you won't regret it. We stayed just the one night and had a lovely meal with good wine and beer, served by helpful and attentive staff. Our room was perfect, overlooking the main road which had virtually no noise at all, with a lovely comfortable bed and good hot shower. Breakfast the following morning was superb! A nice touch was being allowed to stay free in the car park all day even though we checked out at 10.30 and didnt return til after 4pm. I almost didn't book this hotel having read previous reviews but I'm so glad I decided to see for myself. A lovely weekend which I very much hope we will be repeating - and often!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The White Lion for one night, the car park was easy to find at the back of the Inn, although we made the mistake of buying a car park ticket before finding out that you get issued with a pass when you check in (the car park charge was taken off of our bill). Check in was straightforward and we were shown to our room by a cheerful member of staff.
The room was clean but a little tired, the bedside lamps and the tv remote had definitely seen better days! The bathroom was also clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. The bed however, was so hard and uncomfortable, leaving me and my husband with backache the next morning.
The evening meal and breakfast were good, food was freshly cooked and there was plenty of it.
Staff were friendly and helpful, it was just a shame the uncomfortable bed let down what was otherwise a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the last few years. The Hotel is comfortable, but not luxurious, and has a good standard of accommodation. Other reviews refer to the cramped bathrooms on the upper floor, and although the comments are valid, it must be borne in mind that this listed building is about 300+ years old, and reviewers should perhaps consider the cramped bathrooms as a unique feature of a traditional coaching inn. The bar and restaurant are good, and the breakfast is exactly what a British Breakfast should be - freshly cooked, generous portions, friendly service and very filling! On our latest visit we found the staff friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere lively. This is neither a boring chain hotel, nor a pretentious boutique hotel - it is a traditional coaching inn in a delightful town, with a good range of beers and wines. Prices are reasonable for the level of service offered, there is good parking, and above all really friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Expectations were high, but unfortunately did the White Lion did not come up to those expectations in view of the rate for a four poster room. The loo flush did not work on the first morning we were there, although repaired for the rest of our stay. One of the side lights beside the four poster did not work - very complicated system of switching it on (no instructions provided) as there were six switches by the bedroom door. The bathroom sink plug would not drain away water and had to bail water from the sink down the loo. These issues were addressed but the water issue in the bathroom sink still did not drain for the duration of our stay. These issues should not have occurred. Decor was extremely tired, especially the carpet in the bedroom. Would not advise walking around barefoot. The dressing table drawers were propped shut with a chair, once the chair was removed the drawers opened on their own. As the bedroom faced onto the High Street where outside seating was available to guests/drinkers the first night was very noisy with drinkers up until 1.15.a.m. It would have been in the best interest of the management to tell the drinkers that the outside space for drinking was closed at a reasonable time to accommodate those people staying at the White Lion. In view of the above the price per night of £119 does is not warranted. We gained the impression that as this was really the only hotel/inn within walking distance of the KESR it was a case of take it or leave it. There really needs to be more competition within the High Street to spur on enthusiasm to provide better accommodation for people staying in the area. We certainly would not recommend or indeed stay at the White Lion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pmg1975, Manager at White Lion, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Anne
Thank you for your feedback. I am very much interested in all feedback good or indifferent and certainly try to improve all aspects of the business on a daily basis.
I certainly tried to respond to the items you described immediately after being made aware of them, Your comfort and indeed the enjoyment of your visit is of paramount importance to myself and indeed all of the team here at the White Lion.
I would very much like to discuss your visit with you further if you would like to contact me direct.
I look forward to welcoming you here again at the White Lion Tenterden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Super room great value. Lovely 17th (I think) pub, retaining much of the feel and authenticity of the classics English pub, but with all the modern accoutrements that are required today. Room was excellent, don't expect sound proof room, double glazed, perfect temperatures, this is an old building which has been delightfully updated. The floors creak, the bed perfect, the minimal traffic trundles by down the high street outside, you can hear the people in the bar below ( earplugs in the room - nice touch) . Towels nice soap liquid - by the way very smart liquid soap dispenser. Super english Breakfast not to be missed, this will keep you going all day.You want a bit of old England then here it is in the middle of a delightful old Cinque Port town.

Nick

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a Thursday night at the start of a cycling weekend and we wish we had booked for the additional two nights. We didn't check in until after 8pm (having come after work from Surrey) and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. The room was delightfully charming and very comfortable, the food in the restaurant was extremely good and the service we received was second to none. They were very helpful in allowing us to store our bikes, to use their fridge to store our picnic food for the following day and also letting us keep the car in the car park until late afternoon after our cycle. We were thoroughly impressed from start to finish and will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to the area.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel for tall people as the sloping roofs and oak beams in the bedroom and bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pmg1975, Manager at White Lion, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
I look forward to welcoming you here again at the White Lion Tenterden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion

Address: High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a stunning recent refurbishment the White Lion Hotel now gracefully combines ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. All of the rooms (including family and superior rooms) have been delightfully re-furbished to provide guests with flat screen TVs displaying over 40 digital channels, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and new luxurious beds and bedding. Guests can also make use of the function and conference facilities, complimentary WiFi and the restaurant, serving quality fresh food sourced from the best suppliers. The pub remains the heart and soul of the White Lion Hotel and food is our specialty. The enhanced environment, combined with a fantastic new fresh food offer, allows guests to enjoy either a meal in our bar, or for more of an occasion dine in our restaurant. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy one of our many real ales or wines selected from around the world. The town itself has been described as ‘the Jewel of the Weald’, with wide tree lined streets, historic buildings, inns and a host of specialist shops. Out and about there are picture postcard villages to explore, manor houses and gardens, and of course, Leeds Castle, set in 500 acres of parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Tenterden, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.