We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 London Road, Sittingbourne ME10 1NT, England (Formerly Coniston Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very modern, clean and fresh. Staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have dinner there but the usual hot buffet breakfast on offer in the morning (I'm not a fan of these). Rare but they had my favourite Tomato Juice with Tabasco Sauce available and a very friendly lady was good enough to fetch me Worcester Sauce as well :-) Free parking and whilst it's not central, is less than 10 minutes walk from town centre. Would definitely use again if on business in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay @ the Best Western Coniston and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor

It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the staff and service great as the staff work hard and take great pride in ensuring that we meet the expectations of all our guests

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to another enjoyable stay

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    76
    32
    9
    12
See reviews for
26
83
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

For the first time, a hotel actually way better on arrival than the website gave it credit for.

Loved the entrance lobby and my room was truly amazing, however if you're into Georgian style this will not be the place.

Loads of staff all really friendly, great service.

Can't wait to be back in the area to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay @ the Best Western Plus Coniston and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor

It was a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay and you found the staff and service great as the staff work hard and take great pride in ensuring that we meet the expectations of all our guests

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to another enjoyable stay

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel around lunchtime for a 3 night break on Thursday 29th April , we were a party of 2 couples and booked 2 rooms , we are Best Western card holders so we get a free upgrade when available .
We booked in and made our way to the 2nd floor where our rooms were and this was the first time we met Paul the housekeeper , he was in a room nearby and he heard us talking trying to find our room number and immediately came to our aid and took us and showed us where our room was.
Our room was very small, tiny in fact , you walked straight into the room with no form of hallway as in most hotels , you walked straight into the bed it was so near the door , was also quite dark . Our friends room was ginormous , although very stuffy and dark as it had a small window tucked round the side round the corner but was still okay .
We went straight to reception , reception staff were quick and our room was changed immediately , we moved room within minutes and was slightly bigger with a hallway , a seperate shower and bath , this room was fine and appeared brighter .
We dropped our luggage and went straight out and headed to find the town and something for lunch .
When we returned very late afternoon to the hotel and we went straight up to our room , we were having dinner that night and wanted a brief sit down and to get ready for dinner , our friends went off to their room .The blinds are all electric at the window and we had read this prior to our visit so we knew we had to find the switch .I noticed that the bottom of the blind was sort of at a slant and thought maybe it had been wound tighter at one side causing it to look like that . The switch was by the bed and whilst I was pressing it my husband leant forward to look out of the window , it came crashing down off the wall onto his head , he was so stunned he fell against the bed . It looks like maybe the previous guest did not know they were electric , there is nothing actually to say they are so it is possible it was yanked causing it to come out of the wall and all it took was me to press the button for the movement to cause it to fall off completely raw plugs and all , leaving holes in the wall .
My husband sat in the chair with a tissue pad soaked in cold water on the patch that was slowly formimg a bump on the front of his head . I rang reception to tell what had happened , it was a while before somebody came up .
An accident report was filled out and the blind taken away , a 'temporary ' measure so we was told was a bath towel nailed up at the window for the night , we could not be moved room as the hotel was full , the only room left was the one we had originally , they would move us tomorrow or fix the blind .
However despite the promise and us asking every day of our stay it was never ever repaired , on the 2nd day the only other room they said they could offer us , we looked at was not suitable it was very squashed and we would have to wait for it to be cleaned and move when we came back the evening of our 2nd night ,however there was another room available which we asked about as we had walked past it when it was being cleaned but that was not offered to us and when we asked on 2nd night they said somebody had just that second rang to book that room , maybe a coincidence or maybe they didn't want us to have it as is apparently best room in hotel , but it had been free when we originally had the blind incident when they could have given in to us then ! On our 3rd and last night we came back late to the hotel around 11pm, the car park was jam packed as they had a function on and cars were parked anywhere and everywhere , nowhere reserved for residents, we had to park our 2 week old new car precariously at our risk in the car park in a space that was actually the drive through . We found the blind still not repaired despite the promises , we were told that actually the maintenance man was on holiday , so had they ever had any intention of fixing it ? Plus the towel that was nailed up at the window was removed from our room so we had no covering at all , my husband went down to reception where 3 members of staff were standing at the desk to ask why it still was not fixed ( we then found out maintenance man for this large hotel was on holiday ) and where was the towel, it was almost an hour before we finally had another towel brought up to put at the window , this was probably only because after 45 mins my husband rang down and asked asked if the towel was being collected from a Chinese laundry .
So we spent 3 mornings waking up at around 4am each morning with the light streaming through the bath towel at the window , it only gave us privacy not blocked the light , struggling to have any sort of lie in after 4ish in the morning making us groggy at breakfast .The beds were comfy but the lack of suitable window covering prevented a full restful nights sleep .
So definately think that having 1 maintenance man for this large hotel a mistake , when he is on holiday nothing gets done , hated being lied to each day that it was being fixed and expecting to come back to our room after a day out with the blind being fixed.
We did receive a free bottle of wine for the 4 of us with our meal the first night as we ate at the hotel , this was a sort of commiseration for my husbands bump on the head , however food in the restaurant was just okay , nothing brilliant , glad we had a Taste card to give us 50% off our meal as was not worth full price. Service that evening very very slow , though waitress pleasant , despite restaurant being virtually empty , desert was ordered when we ordered our starters and main but it took at least 45 mins to get our desert.
However what made our stay was 2 members of staff who truly are an asset to The Coniston.
Sally - Anne in the restaurant who worked at breakfast time , she greeted us every morning to book us in at the desk with a cheery smile , accommodating our every need throughout breakfast , keeping us happy and nothing too much trouble , polite and chatty , we always had a little bit of banter and asking about where we were going today , making us feel relaxed . She also filled our flasks each morning with hot water to save us waiting for the small kettles to boil in our rooms .
Paul the housekeeper on our floor is the second person who truly is an asset to the hotel , from the minute we met him he was so helpful , going about his job but heard we were obviously having trouble locating our room and not only told us but took us to our first room . He was the housekeeper to our room that was always spotlessly clean and neat and you could see he took pride in his job .Throughout our stay we came across Paul a lot , he is wasted on housekeeping , he really is a people person and really cared that we were having trouble with the maintenance problem with the blind .Although a brilliant housekeeper and his work could not be faulted , Paul would be better suited to reception as his people skills are being wasted , we think he would do a wonderful job front of house , his manner towards you and efficiency with everything thing we asked of him .
We had an email came through before we went to the hotel , asking us to print off and fill in the details of a member of staff who really went out of their way and who we thought was a jewel in the crown , between our party of 2 couples we awarded one to Sally-Anne and one to Paul as they truly are both assets to The Coniston .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Coniston Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on the Trip Advisor.

Whilst I was very pleased to read that a couple of members of the hotel really went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable, I was disappointed to read that of the inconvenience you encountered due to the issues in your room.

You had booked 2 standard rooms but as members of Best Western Rewards you were entitled to a complimentary upgrade subject to availability. Being as we were fully booked during the entire duration of your stay we could only offer the complimentary upgrade on one room, to a Deluxe, which your friends took up.

However on your insistence, when you complaint about the standard room that you had booked, we did manage to juggle and give you an upgrade also, albeit to an Exec and not Deluxe room, simply because we could not do that as it would have meant inconveniencing the guest who had paid for it already. This was the reason why your friends had a larger room than you.

I have spoken to the duty manager who came up to deal with the broken blind. We could have repaired the blind but unfortunately the force of the curtain coming down also broke the motor and as it was the weekend we could not get our supplier to deliver a new motor straight away. Matt, Duty Manager, apologised for this and as we were full offered to move you the next day and improvised with some towels on that night. Matt saw you again @ Dinner and offered his apologies with a bottle of wine.

The Deluxe room you saw being cleaned and thought was vacant was actually booked. Again, it would not have been right to inconvenience a guest who had paid extra for that room to be able to accommodate a family of 3.

Tracey, Operations Manager, did offer to move you to another room to avoid the inconvenience of being in a room without blinds. Unfortunately you declined this, perhaps because it was on the other side of the hotel away from friends.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to above. I would love to discuss and resolve your grievance in person but, as you have chosen to put your comments on the social media, I am not sure if you want me to contact you. Please feel free to contact me directly @ the hotel if you wish to discuss this further and I will be more than happy to ensure we come to a satisfactory conclusion.

Look forward to speaking to you

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for a night in late May and overall it was a pleasant stay. There was a large function going on, so parking was a little tricky - I had to create a space by mounting a couple of kerbs in the car park - no big deal, it's free after all.

I paid a bit more for the executive room (number 135) rather than the standard one, and to be honest wasn't that impressed with the size of the room it looked pretty standard to me. However it was only £5 more so I wasn't expecting a suite or anything, and it did have a large TV, fancy electric blinds, an amazing huge bed, two showers to choose from (one large cubicle and one above the bath) as well as two bottles of water and a Mars bar (nice touch) when we arrived.

There were only two negatives, which was the glass door to the bathroom which, as others have pointed out, doesn't allow for a great deal of privacy when travelling with someone as there is approximately a 12" gap between the bottom of the door and the floor, and the door itself doesn't really shut as such, as there's no lock or catch to secure it closed.
The other negative was the air con/windows: The windows don't open at all, they are sealed shut, so you have to rely on the air con for ventilation. Not usually a problem but I had the air con on the coldest setting (18 degrees) on cool mode (rather than fan or heat) and the room was still sweltering hot overnight despite it being about 12 degrees C outside. This is really frustrating when you can't crack a window and lead to a pretty restless sleep (my fault for not going to Reception I guess!) The air con also seemed to cut off after an hour or so meaning you had to get up and turn it on again to hear the fan start up. I hope the air con issues I had were just a fault rather than the standard.

All in all a positive stay with a couple of minor irritations which I'm sure could be rectified.

Room Tip: Room 135 didn't seem to suffer from any outside noise as it was facing a side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Coniston Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on the Trip Advisor.

Whilst I was very pleased to read that a couple of members of the hotel really went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable, I was disappointed to read that of the inconvenience you encountered due to the issues in your room.

You had booked 2 standard rooms but as members of Best Western Rewards you were entitled to a complimentary upgrade subject to availability. Being as we were fully booked during the entire duration of your stay we could only offer the complimentary upgrade on one room, to a Deluxe, which your friends took up.

However on your insistence, when you complaint about the standard room that you had booked, we did manage to juggle and give you an upgrade also, albeit to an Exec and not Deluxe room, simply because we could not do that as it would have meant inconveniencing the guest who had paid for it already. This was the reason why your friends had a larger room than you.

I have spoken to the duty manager who came up to deal with the broken blind. We could have repaired the blind but unfortunately the force of the curtain coming down also broke the motor and as it was the weekend we could not get our supplier to deliver a new motor straight away. Matt, Duty Manager, apologised for this and as we were full offered to move you the next day and improvised with some towels on that night. Matt saw you again @ Dinner and offered his apologies with a bottle of wine.

The Deluxe room you saw being cleaned and thought was vacant was actually booked. Again, it would not have been right to inconvenience a guest who had paid extra for that room to be able to accommodate a family of 3.

Tracey, Operations Manager, did offer to move you to another room to avoid the inconvenience of being in a room without blinds. Unfortunately you declined this, perhaps because it was on the other side of the hotel away from friends.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to above. I would love to discuss and resolve your grievance in person but, as you have chosen to put your comments on the social media, I am not sure if you want me to contact you. Please feel free to contact me directly @ the hotel if you wish to discuss this further and I will be more than happy to ensure we come to a satisfactory conclusion.

Look forward to speaking to you

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Not stayed in a BW Plus before, but it was central to were I needed to be.

On the outside it looks like a very sterile building but the rooms are spacious I got a twin room facing towards the main road so unfortunately had quite a lot of road noise,

I did not bother with the restraunt I opted for a bar meal it was okay but did not blow me away, if I had to use this hotel again I would but it would not be my first choice

Room Tip: Try and stay away from rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay @ the Best Western Plus Coniston.

I am sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory due to the noise from the road.

The team and I do hope that you will stay with us when in the area again, giving us an opportunity to give you a better experience.

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have eaten here a few times and been pleased but this was the first overnight stay. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room with queen size bed and huge wet room and easy parking. Only downside was a cold breakfast, which was probably our fault for being late down, enough said!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay @ the Coniston and your kind comments and frequenting us for dinning out.

The team and I are really pleased that you found the staff helpful and you liked the food and the rooms. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations @ breakfast. I have discussed this with Operations Manager to ensure that the standards remain consistent throughout the opening times.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Coniston again in the near future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A very bright & welcoming hotel. Our room was excellent with a queen size bed & walk in wet room.
The staff are young. very friendly & very helpful.
The only downside of this one night stay was the restaurant. The service was very good but unfortunately the food was not, it was just OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay @ the Coniston and taking the time to post your comments on the Trip Advisor

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful

I am sorry that the food in the restaurant was just OK and did not match up to your expectations as the rest of the hotel did. I have discussed this point with the head chef

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Coniston

Kind regards
Mohammed Azam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel

Address: 70 London Road, Sittingbourne ME10 1NT, England (Formerly Coniston Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western, The Coniston Hotel - Opening Soon.Fully flexible conference and banqueting facilities sit on the first floor, with 7 conference rooms hosting state of the art meeting facilities.Located on the A2 with good access to the motorway network, the hotel is three miles from junction 5 of the M2 and within easy reach of high speed rail links to London terminals (Victoria, St Pancras and Cannon Street) and Europe, making it an ideal destination for business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel Sittingbourne, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.