We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER great meal! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's

Luigi's
3 The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
+44 1304 615297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Sandwich
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: We specialize in traditional and modern Italian dishes using locally sourced produce. In addition to our traditional menu we offer daily specials to compliment everyone taste.With a rustic interior and a spacious dining room, Luigi’s is a great dining experience with a relaxed and family friendly atmosphere.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ANOTHER great meal! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After all the festive food a good Italian meal was on the cards & where else would we go.....Luigi's. Great food, atmosphere and hosts. We are relatively local with a great choice of cuisines around but if it's an Italian taste fest that you are after then Luigi'a ticks all the boxes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    27
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Overpriced Average Food - Awful Acoustics.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The very lively acoustics here have always been an issue, so when the restaurant is quite full, it´s very difficult to hold a normal conversation without shouting. The food was very average and poor value. The presentation of the pork dish with mashed potatoes was an absolute disaster; a kind of pork Eton mess. The pizza base was very soft in the middle and the toppings (four seasons) VERY sparse. The house wine had no taste whatsoever, so we chose the Primitivo at GBP 21 a bottle, which tasted quite good. The service, it must be said, was very good. There are several one-time reviewers on here who sing the praises of this establishment...beware.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi D, Owner at Luigi's, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. Feedback like yours is important to us ,and is only on receipt of those that we can improve and make necessary amendments .
I understand your comments regarding the acoustic of the old building, We will be looking to see if there is anything that can be done to improve the acoustic in this listed grade 2 building when full .
Since your visit I have spoken to the kitchen team to ensure that the pork dish you had will be reviewed and improved .
Our prices are currently reflecting the restaurants trends all around kent an are based on the purchase price of our fresh products.
I hope this visit hasn't jeopardised your impression of our restaurant and you will consider giving us another try and we can exceed your expectation of us.
We look forward to see you again soon
Kind regards
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We went for a family meal with young children. The service was impeccable . Nothing was too much trouble, and the food was delicious will deffinatly be returning in the new year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Spacious Dining & Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Luigi's was recommended by our B&B hosts Dom & Steph. We love traditional Italian food, we like food that is well prepared but at a reasonable price and we like dining with privacy/personal space! We found Luigi's ticked ALL the boxes...great food, reasonable prices and spacious dining and this added to an excellent dining experience/evening. Would definitely come back when staying in the area again!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Luigi's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Searching for atmosphere, Large restaurant with excellent range of meals, consideration for all tastes, value with great service, look no further this restaurant provides, char grilled meals, wood over pizza, great salads and an excellent range of pasta dishes. Perfect for any occasion for couples, I meet with friends and families with children I continue to dine here frequently and have to admit have never left without meeting all expectations. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.