We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie on the Bay

The Brasserie on the Bay
Princes Golf Club, Sandwich Bay | The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, Sandwich CT13 9QB, England
+44 1304 611118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brasserie on the Bay is located in the Bay of Sandwich. We pride ourselves on delivering quality both in the produce and the experience. We like the experience to be informal, relaxed and above all we take pride in what we do. The Brasserie has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes. Those that want to make more of the visit, why not stay over and wake up to the views of the bay.....
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had the set menu for lunch and were not disappointed. Firstly, it was a warm welcome and at the table a delicious basket of assorted home made rolls was offered. The three of us had the 3 courses for £16.50 , we all had different and we all enjoyed each course immensely. The
oxtail ravioli starter was full of flavour as was the haddock tart. We had the beef,the pork and the pollock for the main meal all accompanied with delicious vegetables. Finally, the puddings were a delight. Rich chocolate torte, lemon meringue with delicious ice cream. We had an excellent bottle of wine at £23 and coffee later in the lounge. It was a relaxing and pleasant experience and a good price. Top marks to all the staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Never You Mind
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for those on a diet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The overall surroundings were very clean, the staff polite and efficient. However, the food was disappointing.

First of all, the salmon fishcake starter was dry inside and very bland. It was the size of a golf ball and tasted somewhat like rubber. Nevertheless, the bread supplied with the starter was superb and tasted good. We asked for a second helping of bread, and the staff obliged. Good.

My chief complaint was the beef main course which was tiny and had virtually no vegetables - just a small potato and a couple of tiny leeks. It was odd to have pasta with potato, making two carbohydrates in one meal. Maybe this is trendy thesedays, but it's not a balanced meal.

The lemon meringue dessert was light but the lemon filling should have been a bit firmer.

The sparkling water with a 'Kingsdown' label was extremely nice, the best I have ever tasted.

Overall, the meal was interesting but left us hungry. A side plate with plenty of healthy vegetables would have remedied this. The Brasserie is the kind of place you go to and then tell your pals you've had a meal at the golf club. Then don't go back there again.

This might explain why, in a fairly large restaurant, we were the only customers that lunchtime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mother`s Day Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a brilliant job Princes have done in renovating the old clubhouse.
Everything was perfect =
Staff
Food
Historic location
Value for money

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Superb , a wonderful experience'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This resturant has to be the best kept secret in Kent as when we arrived we were the only two people in the resturant and yet we were treated so well by all the staff ,they could not have done more for us . The food was outstanding and value for money , my mother had the haddock tarlette and slow cooked pork cheek and belly of pork , at 84 years old she stated this was the best meal she has had in a resturant , an accolade indeed.

This was wonderful experience and I will be returning with other family members. Thank you for making this a wonderful memory for my mother.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing! A hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After dining at some of the best local resturants ..this is the one I would go back to with friends and family. The head chef is amazingly talented and nailed every course. The staff were friendly and the value for money was more than satisfactory. I hope this place takes off as it really the kitchen serve perfect tasting and gorgeous looking delights! ! I am looking forward to some long summer evening's overlooking this gorgeous golf course and sandwich bay!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to The Brasserie on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.