We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of No Name Bistro

No Name Bistro
1 No Name Street, Sandwich CT13 9AJ, England
01304 612626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Sandwich
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The upstars room in the No Name Deli
Deal, Kent
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice stop for coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stopped here for coffee with 5 friends after a long walk, and having to wait for a bus home. We went upstairs (which until yesterday I didn't know they had), and one of our party had a Panini, which she enjoyed, another had the Soup, and a third an Almond Croissant which she asked to be warmed up. Waitresses were helpful and friendly and there were several people already in when we arrived (1pm). The drinks were the same as anywhere else but above average price.
Some of the group bought Bread and olives on the way out, and all the produce downstairs looked good. The shop in Deal owned by the same people always has good produce available too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The lure of the Deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had seen the shop in Deal and then found the shop and Bistro in Sandwich. The enticing foods on display downstairs in the shop lured us in. Off we went upstairs and ordered Quiche and salad. A small plate arrived with an individual tart and a bit of greenery. Pleasant but nothing to write home about. If it's cafe culture, then I think the emphasis is on the Caff. Prices not for the faint hearted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A really good French Deli and Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we entertain friends, we always buy the bread and cheese here as well as, more often than not, ordering one of the delicious home made tarts for dessert. We also shop here quite regularly or just drop in for coffee when the mood takes us and have eaten in the Bistro more than once. Dominique and his staff are always pleasant and welcoming. There is no where else in Sandwich that covers so many bases. Popular? Deservedly so!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Average and Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have used No Name Bistro on a few occasions, Dominique does a good job, but, it's still standard coffee/cakes etc! His 'deli' prices are out of our reach! Not much 'local trade' relies on 'visitors' to this 'historic town'! Worth a visit! But bring your 'credit card'!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A leetle bit of "sante" in sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Ooh lala. We popped in for a queek caffe au lait as it was raaning chats et chein. Ah waz very appy wiz the servise and the caffe waz cest formidables.
Tre bien all ze staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Name Bistro also viewed

 

Been to No Name Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Name Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.