We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Pleasantly surprised by the size of our room and its modern decor, plus a very comfortable bed. Very quiet with a view over the river. Breakfast was also good with prompt service. A good base for exploring Sandwich. We managed to get a parking space in front of the hotel though I suspect this is tricky if you arrive later than we did.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    114
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
201
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed here for the weekend with my husband, Sandwich is a lovely town and the Bell has a great location by the river. We arrived late on friday night and were put into room 39, first impressions were good, lovely decor and ok size, the view was pretty rubbish overlooking the roof but as we dont spend much time in the rooms anyway it was ok for the weekend, we had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening which was excellent, i highly recommend the chateaubriand! Things were a little different in the morning however, the rooms above us sounded like they were showering in our room, it was so loud and then our neighbours checked in next door and we could hear their whole conversations, the walls were so thin, i called reception who agreed to move us, we were moved to room 43 which was a lot quieter as in the corner, this was fine but did have a lot of traffic noise in the morning. breakfast service was pretty comical, the waiting staff instead of dealing with one area all try and do everything which does not work, we asked for tea and coffee 3 times and waited about 20 mins for it, we eventually were able to order breakfast and then someone elses was delivered to us, when it did come and was correct it was delicious but service was a bit bizarre, the 2 other tables by us had the same experience too which is a shame. I would stay here again but would be choosy on which room i was in as they vary a lot.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The good - in an area of the UK devoid of good hotels, The Bell Hotel is at least making an effort to be modern and stylish and the food is excellent.

The bad - the rooms are small and ours (room 38) had no view, looking straight at the roof of the hotel 2 metres away, more importantly the room stank of food as we were obviously above the kitchen or next to an extractor. The fittings are cheap, especially the bathrooms. Once turned on our shower wouldn't turn off agan. But worst of all was the attitude of the senior staff whose default position seems to be that the customer is always wrong.

In conclusion, this could be a nice hotel, if they charged appropriately for sub-standard rooms, f they upgraded their fittings and, most importantly, trained their staff in how to deal with upset customers. We have stayed in hotels around the world. Sometimes things go wrong, its inevitable. The mark of a good hotel be it a 3 star or 5 star deluxe is that if you complain about something you come away feeling that the staff have done their utmost to help you. And done it with a smile!

PS Bring ear plugs - the sound proofng isn't great between rooms, and the pigeons and church bells can give you a rather early wake up call.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, General Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us last weekend.

We try to ensure all of our guests are satisfied and on the occasion we do not get this right, we do our up most to solve the problem, unfortunately the Hotel was full through out the Bank Holiday weekend and we were unable to move you to an alternative Room. As soon as we were made aware of the problem with the shower on Saturday morning, we arranged for a plumber to come on site and change the unit. I take on board your comments regarding the fittings but have had very little problems since they were installed. I will investigate the sound proofing issues and look at ways of improving upon this and thank you for raising this with me.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the Food and appreciated the design and refurbishment we have carried out over recent years.

If I can be of any further help or if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to email or phone me direct.

Many Thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Renovations continuing. Dinner was good. Lots of stairs to bedrooms without a lift but this will be reflected in its star rating. Bedroom window difficult to open and obscured glass giving claustraphobic feel to an otherwise nice room. Bed and linens excellent. Parking difficult.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Nice hotel, had a really cheap rate for a double room with breakfast but bed in room 20 certainly wasn't 5 ft, i think not as advertised and was a 4ft single ?

Would go back but be choosy about room

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Wonderful hotel, good food/wine and delightful rooms, all individually decorated with extremely comfortable beds. Try and get a room overlooking the river. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. Sandwich is an easy town to explore on foot and there are a number of longer, well signposted walks around the area. We only stayed for a weekend but will definitley return and we can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

This was very nearly a great hotel, but unfortunately was let down poor management. Individually all the staff were pleasant and helpful, but nobody seemed to know quite what their role was. For example, at breakfast either everybody tried to take your order or you were left to your own devices until you intercepted one of them, that was of course after they all tried to show you to a table. That confusion was also evident in the kitchen because some elements of the breakfast came out piping hot whilst others were merely warm and nobody seemed to be allocated to replenishing the contents of the buffet.
On the hotel website their is a promotional video and one scene is of the owner proudly showing off the new carpet in the corridor. She has obviously not been down that corridor, or any other of the newly carpeted areas recently because it is badly in need of cleaning. As this is the carpet you use to get to your room for the first time it does make you wonder what you will find when you open the door. Fortunately, that was a very clean and pleasant room, well equipped but much smaller than expected.
The one dinner we had there was good enopugh but we felt it did not represent good value for money, being overpriced compared to similar meals elsewhere.
The lack of attention to detail took the edge of what could have been a really good stay. What is needed is for management to actually manage.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
Thank you for your comments.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the service at Breakfast in our Restaurant was not up to our usual high standard during your stay with us and I will ensure this is addressed immediately.

The Carpet leading up the stairs and on the Landing was replaced earlier this year and is cleaned on a regular basis.
Unfortunately the carpet on the stairs and through out the bedroom corridors has not been as hard wearing and more susceptible to staining than we had hoped. We will be replacing some of the more heavily walked areas shortly.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Matt Collins
General Manager
01304 613388
mcollins@bellhotelsandwich.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.