We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel has just had a revamp of its restaurant and bar which is really nice. Rooms are very nice although starting to show signs of age. This however would not put us off from going back. The staff were lovely and Sandwich is such a beautiful place to visit with some lovely walks and of course pubs ( the George and Dragon has some great bar snacks).
We ate in the restaurant but did move table to be away from the draughty windows. Food and service was nice. Bar area is modern but very cozy. I believe they are still in the process of upgrading more parts of this lovely old hotel. When we booked there was a large discount due to the scaffolding still being up around the hotel.We will definitely be revisiting again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    113
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
201
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed just for one night on the occasion of my daughter's engagement. We had three rooms. Unfortunately the most expensive "river view "room had the view obscured by scaffold outside the window. The downstairs bar was also being renovated . No offer of discount for these inconveniences. Would have been nice if some allowance was made for this. It would be good to try again when the hotel wasn't in a state of renovation , I'm sure it would then rate more highly as the location is lovely and all the ingredients are there for a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have booked my wedding at a nearby venue and was recommended The Bell as one of their preferred hotels.
We decided to have a 'trial run' a year before the wedding just to make sure that the venue was right, as all of our extended families and friends have also booked to stay here with us.
The hotel was very nice although at the time of visit it was undergoing some extensive renovation work.
Our room was very nice, although it needed a touch of paint here & there; something that may have now been done as part of the above mentioned work being done.
We stayed on a very wet & windy night & as a result the bathroom was very cold, but the room stayed nice and warm which was good. The bed was very comfortable & we slept very well as a result.
The service was excellent and the staff member we spoke with about the wedding couldn't have been more helpful, attentive & supportive (especially considering the actual date was so far away!).
Breakfast was delicious & there was plenty to choose from, even for a vegan like myself. The staff were again very attentive & polite & all in all we really enjoyed our night way.
We are looking forward to returning in September with out family and friends & hope they like it as much as we do.
Just be aware that there is little or no parking at the hotel & that the car park opposite costs £6 a day. That is really the only downside if honest and it's a shame there isn't more parking available. Saying that, Sandwich is a very quaint little town & parking is at a premium throughout.
We are already looking forward to returning in September!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bell Hotel Christmas Eve and Christmas Day (2 nights) our room was spacious and very clean, we looked over the Quay which was lovely(room 2) , the atmosphere there was great , the food was excellent the staff looked after us very well ( with special thanks to lovely Gemma) what more can we say JUST PERFECT

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bell Hotel which is appointed nicely on the Sandwich Quay, for the Christmas Vacation. From the minute we walked through the door the staff were cheerful and helpful. We were given the family room as we had our dog with us too and we found it to be very clean, spacious and comfortable and with well stocked tea bar. The food was absolutely fabulous and would recommend this hotel above all for its wonderful warm , family atmosphere. Our breakfasts were delicious too with a good continental with the added bonus of being able to order of a selection of cooked too. We had a fabulous Christmas and as I have experienced having to work many a Christmas Day myself I appreciated the friendly service from all the staff , especially our waiter Nicholas who served our breakfasts. Thank you to all the staff and a Happy New Year to you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

My colleagues and I stayed at the Bell Hotel on the Quay at Sandwich last week and after a successful planning consent we celebrated with a meal and drinks in the newly refurbished bar. I hade a 'blue' steak (as is my taste) and it was very good, best I have had for quite some time. washed down with a nice red wine and local sparkly a great evening was had.
The hotel (and especially the beds) is just lovely, quirky but a great place to stay and eat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Despite the fact that the hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, the staff coped superbly and were both friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast was excellent and I particularly commend the mature gentleman who serves it with a smile to brighten the greyest morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.