We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Banbury, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break in this lovely hotel. Ideally situated on the quayside, we were right in the middle of this mediaeval town. The weather was bitterly cold, but as we entered the hotel, there was a warm woodburner stove with comfy chairs and sofas to welcome us. The rooms were spotless with good facilities and all the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. This was an ideal place to place to explore this part of Kent - Canterbury, Herne Bay and the White Cliffs of Dover all within easy reach. We had great value for money and have already recommended the Bell to friends. We were really looking forward to the seal watching boat trip but it was just too cold so an excellent excuse to return at a warmer time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    113
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
201
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although there has been an hotel on the site for many years, it is the wonderful Victorian reception that strikes you. We had a lovely room over looking the Quay. It was a very cold couple of days and the room was not warm, but with very cosy bed linen and comfortable seating this was infinatly preferable to over heated central heating!
Very helpful staff - even lending me a DVD when I showed interest inthe local history.
We had an excellent deal with Dinner, bed and breakfast, hotel restaurant was very good.
Sandwich is a very sleepy little town which still has early closing day! It is however convenient for other Kent towns as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me, my girlfriend, cousin and her boyfriend came here around about 6pm on Saturday the 16th February.

We managed to park on the righthand side of the hotel, where its permit parking but we were lucky it was out of the hours when we arrived and its free on Sundays.

We walked through the door, which was one that spins...Was quite a laugh trying to get all of us in each bit and walking together....

When we got inside the hotel, its like your set back in time. The reception desk looks like it could be a ticket office selling train tickets, there really old suit cases and type writers around the hotel. Really cool, what makes the hotel in my opinion. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very modern, bed was so comfy :)

Oh when you come to lock your door, inside the door. Theres a little button, push it in and turn it clock wise the door then will lock....You only need the key to get into the room, not to lock it.

The breakfast was nice, could of done with a bit more to be honest but it was nice :)

I'd come here again but its a bit on the pricey side of things when it comes to the room rate.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just stayed at this gem of a hotel. We had room 1 and it was beautiful. Big light and airy. The bathroom was huge and the roll top bath was fab. Pity the weather was grot but the food and friendly staff more than made up for that.
The lady who greeted on reception was so helpful and cheerful. Thank you

Room Tip: Our room was great but the river view really wan't worth paying an upgrade for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arrived late Friday pm, parked easily. Pretty hall/ sitting room warmed by wood stove made good first impression. Friendly, efficient welcome, we had a beautiful bright room directly on riverside, linens and bed of very high quality, slept really well. Before that we had a seriously good dinner (included in chosen online rate). Staff are unobtrusive, well-trained and work hard to make everything just right. Sandwich itself is pure joy, an immaculate small town with fascinating history. Highly recommended for weekend break or longer.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in size and shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel, I was surprised that it was only 3 star as it it was actually superior to some of the 4 star hotels that I have stayed in.

The reception area of the hotel is lovely, and has the most lovely cosy atmosphere with a log burner and lots of comfortable chairs and sofas in. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and were a good size.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food and staff were fantastic.

We only had a couple of issues, and they were:
- Limited free parking available at the hotel. However, there is a car park literally round the corner. This costs 90p per hour between 9am and 6pm, and you can either pay in cash or on the phone. The maximum stay for the car park was 24 hours (if you include the hours between 6pm and 9am).
- The room that we had was quite noisy in the evening due to the 2 pubs that were opposite. This wouldn't have been such an issue if we hadn't had to leave the bathroom door open as the room was very hot due to being on the chimney breast.

All in all though, this was a really lovely hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone that is visiting the area.

Room Tip: If possible, I would suggest asking for a room that does not face the main road, as I suspect that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live in eastern France and regularly drive to and from the UK. The Bell Hotel is our preferred stop over each way. We are a couple with 2 young boys and a baby daughter. We have stayed in all the family rooms that the hotel has to offer. Since the hotel was renovated a few years back, we have always been very pleased with the accommodation. Rooms are always very clean and invitingly presented with rich fabrics and comfortable beds and pillows. Bathrooms are white victorian style. In one of the family rooms we even had a basket with books and jigsaws which was a bonus. Another winning element of your stay at the Bell is the full english breakfast included in the room rate which is always delicious and freshly cooked. Furthermore the staff in the dining room are always very helpful and chatty and make us feel very welcome. They are also very accommodating towards our children and nothing is too much trouble. Once we accidentally left some coats in the wardrobe and the Bell posted them on to us without any problems. On the downside the hotel is not double glazed and we have had some nights without much sleep due to the noise of cars outside and the sound of the village church bells tolling on the hour throughout the night. One another occasion there was a wedding on and we heard the party music until about 1.30am, but we had been warned about this before we booked. Despite this we will be returning as we always have a nice time and it has become a home from home for us. Location is perfect for exploring Sandwich on foot and only a short drive to Sandwich bay beach, the sea, Canterbury for shopping and sightseeing and the Channel Tunnel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the quieter part of the hotel to avoid road noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.