We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandwich Leisure Park Camping

Sandwich Leisure Park Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandwich Leisure Park Camping
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Woodnesborough Road, Sandwich CT13 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“enjoyable holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in one of the recently built camping huts for a pleasant 5 night stay.
Very nice site, extremely well maintained with very good facilities.
Sandwich is beautiful, with plenty of shops, and places to eat. The takeaways are excellent but pricey.
We had barbecues, and our daughter played on her little scooter outside the hut without problems. The dog was made welcome too.
I would agree that when you book, be careful with your card details. They take full payment straight away, then when you arrive, have to pay £50 deposit so it is very profit orientated, then again, they obviously work hard to keep the place nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty J, Owner at Sandwich Leisure Park Camping, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are really pleased this lady enjoyed her stay with us. However, we do feel that we need to clarify a couple of points raised as follows: full payment for camping/touring bookings is taken at time of booking. If at any time the booking needs to be cancelled, the policy is they are able to take their holiday at another time valid up to 12 months or to transfer to a third party at the owners discretion. We take a refundable key deposit for our wooden huts and holiday homes on arrival .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We've been camping here for a few years and consistently been happy with our stay.
Facilities are clean and tidy, every year new bits are added so are happy to return again. Sandwich town is a nice place to visit, so this touring park is worth a stay.

We camp with a tent so can't comment on campers/caravan facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having just spent a fortnight with wife dog and folding camper I can honestly say that in our 23 years of using camp sites all over England this one has left a lasting impression.
On arrival at reception we were greeted by warm and friendly staff, our pitch was superb nicely hedged off with its own power and water supply. It was nice not to be looking in our neighbours window very private.
The site facilities didn't fall short either as they included dishwasher area with combined laundry,
Impressive toilets and showers and for the campers a separate kitchen with 2 large freezers 1 fridge and 2 microwave ovens plus an adjoining undercover dishwasher area.
In the 2 weeks we where there all were kept very clean a pleasure to use.

The site is situated on the edge of Sandwich however the campsite gives you the impression of been in the countryside when you walk off site a matter of 2 minutes you are in sandwich.
Sandwich is a beautiful old town with lots to offer we visited one or two hostelries including the red cow very nice good food and pleasant atmosphere just recently taken over by a young and friendly couple, the market inn is not to be missed and I strongly recommend the home made lasagne top notch, the one to totally avoid is the fisher mans wharf total ripoff we were charged £6.00 for 2bottles of j2o didn't stay for dinner. For fast food and if you like fish and chips give ozzies fresh fish and chips a try they are good. However the last word on our eating experience and the top marks must go to the kings arms please please try it the food is scrumptious service excellent surroundings sublime we ate in the walled garden beautiful seriously not to be missed.

The only downside to our holiday was that I made the mistake of booking then reading the reviews on trip advisor and was very anxious hoping I hadn't cocked up all worries were totally unfounded.
The only poor customer service I encountered was was by Eddie in the coop who was very rude to my wife. Edd if you are going to be rude to people cover up your name badge ya wally

In conclusion I would sincerely thank. Alan, Gill(formerly known as Eileen long story, ) Kerry, and Shirley plus all the staff to numerous to mention For a wonderful peaceful and tranquil holiday and look forward to seeing you again.

In appreciation Gill Stuart and Zac the dog.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in our motorhome . The park was nicely laid out , and very well kept .
The showers and toilets were uni - sex and had the feel of swimming pool changing rooms about them . Not really very nice .
Best of all about the site is that it's a really short stroll along a very pretty river bank to get into Sandwich - which is really worth a look .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friends booked this for us and sadly had to pull out. We carried on as x2 couples and although thought originally it was expensive for camping we were impressed by the helpful staff and great facilities. I cant remember having a shower/toilet/wash area that was actually warm all day and night. Fridges, freezers to put your stuff in (label it with your name), microwaves, washing machines and dryers. A great place whether you camp like us, or take your caravan or if you stay in the wooden tents !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We as a family of 5 spent a week at Sandwich Leisure Park in a Static caravan.
The caravan was immaculate and well equipped.
All staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
The facilities are all very modern and clean.
The childrens play area is brilliant!!
We were sad to be leaving, will return again soon!
Lovely time had by all!!
Thank you! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked to take our tourer over the 2nd may bank holiday weekend and afterwards read many negative comments and wondered what we had let ourselves in for.

On arrival was given a map to find our pitch and given instructions, which were easy to follow - pitches are not massive but as it was quiet it was not a problem as the kids could spill onto two pitches to play.

The toilets and showers were fantastically clean and well equiped with a shelf and hooks to hang things. Wash up areas were also good with hot but slow filling sinks. Did not have to queue more than 2 minutes.

We were worried by the comments about a building site but all was quiet over the weekend - as we left on the Tuesday there was a little building noise but nothing as bad as others reviewers experienced. You can see/hear trains but it did not keep up awake or spoil our weekend.

The convenience of the location far outweighed these negatives. Sandwich is a lovely old town, with easy access to historic Dover and the delightful beach in Broadstairs, which allows dogs on the beach in two designated areas.

Will definitely return but will ignore the sat nav directions as it takes you down small country lanes and into the town, the lanes of which are very tight when towing a caravan - if you come in via the ring road and St Barts Road, there is not a problem.

Room Tip: try to get a pitch around 60-70 to avoid the railway noise - those in the 50s back onto the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandwich Leisure Park Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwich Leisure Park Camping

Address: Woodnesborough Road, Sandwich CT13 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Sandwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandwich Leisure Park Camping 5*
Also Known As:
Sandwich Leisure Park Camping Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandwich Leisure Park Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandwich Leisure Park Camping to your Saves list