We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience...but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salutation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Salutation to your Saves list
The Salutation
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Knightrider Street | Kent, Sandwich, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice experience...but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed as a group of 6 in one of the outhouses. We had paid a preimum price for the weekend, certainly more than for a bog standard b&b and so we were expecting the most top class quality experience.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay, outhouse was nicely furnished and kitted out. Nice touch was a courtesy selection of alcholic and soft drinks and basic provisions.

However the place was not spotless in terms of cleanliness. Also 1 toilet serving six people was not the easiest experience.

Breakfast was hosted in a very impressive dining room with a long table along the centre. Rather bizarrely we were asked to sit along one side of the table, as there was another group also staying at the same time. It made sense to sit as a group at either end of the table and when asked if we could do so were told this was not possible and we had to sit in the line ?! This was not the expected response and dampended the experience a little. Breakfast choice of fried english breakfast was only average unfortunately.

So overall, given the price paid experience was good (but not very good) - next time I think we would probably try somewhere else.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    14
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Salutation. I booked this beautiful accommodation for my husbands 65th birthday. It was on the strength of watching Four in a Bed. It was absolutely beautiful. Dominic was a super host and supplied me a list of all the restaurants in the area before arrival. Absolutely amazing and would recommend this beautiful place to anyone. Top class everything is catered for every little extra you could imagine. Beautiful bed and bedding slept really well. Very peaceful. We stayed in St David's pure luxury. Free bar with a great selection of spirits complete with every mixer imaginable. Also had the most amazing ice machine. The breakfast was the best we have ever had which was served by the most friendly staff. Loved it and cant wait to go again. The town has lovely pubs and the locals are extremely friendly. Nothing else to be said except superb and thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

just returned from a 2 night stay at the Salutation in Sandwich. We stayed in St Georges in the Knightrider house. Had the whole cottage to ourselves as it was midweek. Evertyhing was perfect. rooms cosy and warm, a kitchen to use, and a FREE BAR!!! Breakfast was nothing other than first class, made and served by a truly great member of staff (Richard). I really hope too many people dont find out about this hidden gem. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Knightrider cottage is lovely St georges room has a beautiful view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Took my partner here for a birthday surprise after seeing the tv programme "Four in a Bed" on channel 4 a few weeks ago. We were not disappointed: it lived up to our expectations. From the moment we arrived until we left 3 days later, we were well looked after by all the staff. We stayed in Knightrider House, a charming cottage over 3 floors. Being grade II listed meant that it had not been spoiled at all, all the decor was tasteful and furniture and fittings in keeping with the period. The garden as seen from the window of the lounge was beautiful too having been designed by Gertrude Jekyll and re-opened a few years back by Monty Don. We had the whole place to ourselves so had privacy and quiet - just what we needed! There was a well stocked drinks cabinet and wide range of mixers too, all included in the price. In the bedroom was a decanter of whiskly and one of sherry all complmentary - with a bedside book entitled, "How ro Cure a Hangover" which I thought was a witty touch! The bed linen was fine cotton with goose down quilts and pillows making for a comfortable night's sleep too. I woke up refreshed each morning. Lesley, the manager made sure we were comfortable and wanted for nothing. Breakfast each morning was served in the main house and was a delight! A magnificent dining table went the length of the room and was beautifully laid each mornng with lovely fresh roses along the centre of the table. The breakfasts were generous, well cooked with a good range on offer. The loving care that has been lavished on this magnificent place is well worth making the effort to visit. It is situated in the town of Sandwich with everything within walking distance from the house. I highly recommend this memorable place and cannot wait to go again, perhaps when the weather is warmer and the garden shows itself to its full potential. I must see place with tea rooms and a gift shop open in the summer months.

Room Tip: Rooms will be possible in the main house later this year, but all the cottages are close to this any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. We booked one night in St Davids in the Coach House and managed to get a second night in St Giles as we didnt want to leave. St Davids has an enormous super king sized bed and everything you could ask for - even bottles for a night cap! St Giles is much smaller and usually let as a single room but we took it. The Coch House has a large kitchen and lounge and comes with free bar and even an ice machine. All the rooms had wifi and freeview.

Breakfast was amazing and served in an amazing dining room - all freshly cooked to order.

Thanks to Dominic (the owner), Richard for the general service and breakfast, and Margaret the manager.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary in the Coach House. It is an absolutely fantastic place to stay, with everything you could wish for. From the first moment we were met on our arrival ,until the time we had to leave, the friendliness of the service was superb. The Coach House has all the amenities you could wish for. We would thoroughly recommend The Salutation and can't wait for an excuse to return again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Salutation is a fabulous place to stay. I can't recommend it enough! We stayed in the Coach House for the weekend, which was very luxurious. It was decorated immaculately with lots of lovely extras (complimentary drinks, newspapers). We were served champagne afternoon tea in the dining room area of the Coach House, which was very memorable.

The excellent breakfast was served in the main house, with everything you might want.

We received a 5* service from everyone we met. The team went out of their way to arrange for us to check in on the first day to avoid the snow, serving us the excellent breakfast on arrival.

We hope to return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salutation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salutation

Address: Knightrider Street | Kent, Sandwich, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Salutation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salutation is perhaps one of the finest places to stay in Kent. With eight new beautiful bedrooms in the Salutation manor house and nine beautiful bedrooms within three charming self-contained cottages which feature a fully-fitted kitchen, spacious living areas and a complimentary bar, The Salutation accommodation provides a truly bespoke, relaxing and eloquent stay. Every room is furnished with duck down pillows and duvets and sumptuous Egyptian cotton sheets for a relaxing night's stay, and many overlook the glorious three-and-a-half acres of Lutyens and Jekyll gardens. Expect nothing but the highest standards and exceptional service when staying at any one of the properties and enjoy full access to The award-winning Secret Gardens of Sandwich, located to the rear of the main house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your The Salutation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salutation Sandwich, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salutation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.