We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Arms Restaurant

The King's Arms Restaurant
Strand Street | The King's Arms Hotel, Sandwich CT13 9HN, England
01304 617330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Sandwich
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Six of us went for lunch yesterday. Had booked table in restaurant in advance. Very warm welcome on arrival. Very comprehensive menu with wide range of dishes (all day breakfast to ribs of lamb). Very generous portions of high quality home cooking. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Patrons car park at rear. Will definitely go there again when next in Sandwich - highly recommended. Well done the Kings Arms!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Visited this place for the first time last Sunday. The food quality was very good and there were lots of things to choose from their standard menu as well as special board menu. Service was excellent and starters were served within 5 minutes. The only negative point is the price of their beer, we paid £7.50 for a pint of bitter and small 330ml bottle of Peroni lager.

Worth the visit for a meal if you are not a heavy drinker ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic 21st Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just had the most wonderful 21st celebration for my daughter's birthday at the King's Arms. There were 13 of us in "Annie's Room" and, as usual, we decorated the room with banners and balloons. The meal was superb as usual - everyone had a fantastic meal and we just could not manage puddings all round. The house white was particularly good. But the most impressive thing about the King's Arms is the staff. Richard was so helpful and Emma her usual calm and caring self. The two waitresses who took our orders were unflappable and so friendly and helpful. It really is a most beautful setting, a typical old-fashioned pub and has a lovely warm and cosy atmosphere. The chef deserves a medal for producing high quality food and so many different meals all five-star quality.

Thank you so much for making our family celebration such a joyous one - we will be back as soon as we've got room to squeeze in another of your fantastic generous meals!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We only eat here for my dads birthday. But my friends tell me the rooms are good. The service and staff were so good and friendly. Nothing is to much trouble for them. They allow you to bring your own birthday cake and have it as a dessert!! The portion size and prices are GREAT!! It's a must try hotel :) I would like to thank all the staff for making it a great evening to remember.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we have eaten here regularly for about 8 years and have never had anything to complain about the food is wonderful nothing is too much trouble and food always piping hot and amazing selection. staff are very friendly & obliging best place to eat in area. lovely atmosphere this time of year with log fires in bar. thoroughly recommend you will keep going back
.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Arms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The King's Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.