We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it your first choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Arms Restaurant

The King's Arms Restaurant
Strand Street | The King's Arms Hotel, Sandwich CT13 9HN, England
01304 617330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Sandwich
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Make it your first choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The atmosphere is charming, the staff is very friendly and attentive, the site is rich in history and the food is wonderful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was at Prince's Golf Club with three friends for a golfing weekend and after a hard day's slog on the fairways and greens we drove the three miles into picturesque Sandwich in search of some refreshments and sustenance.
The receptionist at The Lodge had recommended the King's Arms and with the help of a few friendly locals we soon find ourselves standing outside the pub. We were then faced with the most difficult task of the evening, namely to find the way in. No entrance on the right hand side of the building, no entrance on the left either, but hold on - there's the car park. And true enough, from the car park, through the back door, past the kitchen we finally made it inside.
After that, everything went swimmingly. The landlord found us a table, the waitress brought us drinks and advised knowledgeably about the menu and the specials and soon after the food arrived.
We had ordered quite a wide selection and none of the dishes disappointed. I had a rib-eye steak, perfectly cooked medium rare, with crispy chips and a crunchy salad and it was as good as (if not better than) in any steakhouse I have been to recently. Two of our party had the locally caught Dover Sole and they also declared themselves very happy with their choice.
Puddings and coffees followed and when the bill arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. High quality food in a pleasant environment with friendly service and at good value - you really couldn't ask for much more.
The King's Arms will be my first choice for lunch or dinner at my next visit to Sandwich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“1st Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. We eat there regularly and it can't be beaten for good English pub food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like bland food come here tried this pub for the first time due to this site very miss leading if you want a great steak go to the George and dragon which is ten times superior on a plus service was friendly

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have now eaten at this charming pub on two occasions - once in the dining room and once in the bar. On both occasions the food was excellent and the staff most welcoming and attentive. We will visit again very soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Arms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The King's Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.