We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and the food is beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darjeeling Heights

Darjeeling Heights
335 High Street, Rainham ME8 8DS, England
+44 1634 314878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Rainham
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Through passion, pride and great dedication, Darjeeling Heights has gained a unique position in Kent social and dinning environment. Our meticulously prepared regional cuisine and British favourite dishes by our master chefs, specially prepared wine list and cocktail menu, beautiful setting in midst of wonderful images of Darjeeling. Our seamless service and welcoming smile have created a wonderful atmosphere of relaxed elegance.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and the food is beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

On our arrival the staff were wonderful and helpful. I had arranged a meal for my friends birthday, they hid a cake I made for the optimum time.
We started in the bar with a cocktail, I felt no pressure from the staff to go to the table but once we all had our drinks we moved to the table.
The staff were attentive and helpful suggesting food.
All the food was gorgeous beautifully spiced and nice to get away from traditional dishes that you see in a lot of Indian restaurants
When te time came they played awesome cheesy music and bought out the cake, it was fun and the staff made it a birthday to remember!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice touch but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We tried the Darjeeling for the first time this week and I agree with most of the other comments. The service was very good, the restaurant is nice modern decor but not 'Wow'. We had a number of different dishes and all the food was very good, reasonable portions and served in nice bowls. However the Pashwari Nan was very greasy and so was the Pilau Rice but very tasty as well, the lemon rice was particularly good.

A nice touch was that they must have heard us toasting one of our party a Happy Birthday because at the end of the meal they dimmed the lights, played a Happy Birthday record and came out with an ice-cream and candle while the chef and two waiters stood around our table and clapped.

We had a very nice evening however it is not cheap and the drinks are very expensive for a provincial Indian, this isn't London and the 12.5% service charge is OTT.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england, kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice food but very expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We decided to book here for last new years eve - after our original plans fell through. We were quite lucky to get a table within a few days notice but i guess it may not be peoples first choice for new years celebrations.

The parking was ample and i really like the modern decor inside. I was abit disspointed that there was not much of a waiting area\ bar area to enjoy a few pre dinner drinks. However we were seated within 5 minutes by a very sour faced looking man ( who i assume was the manager) who plonked menus down infront of us and marched off without even taking our drinks order. After having to call a waiter over we finally ordered drinks and looked at the menu.

The tables are very close together ( and as it was new years eve were decorated with hats and poppers) and there dosent appear to be that much space inbetween. however the menu looked good and we quickly made our choices. Our friendly waiter came back and answered all our questions. We both enjoyed our prawn starters although i didnt like the sauces that were served with poppadoms. The service was quick and i just had time to enjoy a cocktail before our main courses arrived. Again my chicken was nicely cooked and my parters lamb dish was better id say. All presented well even though not massive portions. I opted for sorbet for desert before we collected the bill. The service charge dosent usually bother me but i feel sorry for the waiters as i very much doubt they actually see any of it! therefore you feel compeled to leave actual cash. I would return to Darjeeling perhaps for a special occasion meal but certainly not for a take away as i dont feel the food is exceptional enough to warrant the prices. i have had a nicer meal for less elsewhere and will stick to my usual indian restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Expensive, but exceptionally good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Clearly this venue has improved since the poor reviews in June. 2 of us went with 2 friends last Friday evening. Nice welcome from most of the Staff and the place was buzzing with several groups enjoying themselves. The building (converted pub) is presently unattractive from the exterior but the interior is light & airy and attractively decorated, including large pictures of (appropriately) the Darjeeling Light Railway & Indian grand buildings. Spent a lot of money on it, hence perhaps the above average prices for most dishes, particularly the peripherals such as 2 x 300ml Kingfisher beers £5.90 and £7.60 for 8 Pappadoms! The 12.5% gratuity added on, is a bit steep and although a previous reviewer said it's optional, how many of us would have the courage to ask for it to be removed or reduced if we had already said the meals were lovely. Which they were: we all had a different dish, each one outstanding for quantity, flavours & presentation. So final bill after 2 desserts & 2 coffees: £126. Very nice meals & lovely evening, so can't really complain.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vonnie0101
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We live locally but have not tried the Darjeeling Heights before. We visited last weekend and found the staff very attentative from the moment we walked in. Yes the prices are a bit more expensive but it more than makes up for tasty well presented food.
My partner said he has never tasted lamb curry or garlic naan bread like he tasted on this night, and he is a fussy eater.
Im a vegetarian and ordered a chana aloo and potato starter which was completely unique to anything i have ordered in an indian restuarant before.
The portions were large and we didnt really need two portions of rice.
We will definately be going back.
You are free to look at the menu and prices before you sit down, so you know roughly what your meal is going to cost. You pay 12.5% service charge in pizza express, this is a normal rate of service charge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darjeeling Heights also viewed

 

Been to Darjeeling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darjeeling Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.