We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elvey Farm to your Saves list
Elvey Farm
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Elvey Lane, Pluckley TN27 0SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wow...what a gem of a place!
Staff just could not do enough for you, rooms are warm cosy and quaint with DTV, Tea and coffee making facilities and nice lounge area in which to relax. Countryside is like a picture postcard and the area is stunning.
The bar has a roaring log fire and has a very good wine cellar and the restaurant is equally cosy with food fit for a king. I would highly recommend the fillet steak (it comes with a slightly salted crust after being cooked in aga) as it is wonderful.

Room Tip: I was advised by the staff that from early May through to September no Saturdays are available to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    42
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
203
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Uniquely beautiful and very tranquil.
Delicious food and very helpful staff.
Highly recommend for a peaceful and relaxing time to unwind.
We only stayed one night but will be returning as soon as possible to try out one of the other gorgeous rooms.
Didn't see any ghosts and loved the creaky doors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Elvey Farm on Saturday and Sunday 28th and 29th December and had a great time . Our room had a wet-room attached and that was a real bonus , and really got us in the mood .Dinner was good , and Elsie a real darling , and as a military historian I was staggered when I saw the Battle of Britain commemoration plaque on the wall in the bar . I was even more staggered when the young lad in the bar confirmed that yes he knew the doorstop was a piston and con-rod from a Spitfire Merlin engine , the one that had crashed in 1940 . My 24 year old son wouldn't have a clue , despite WW2 being taught at home since his and my daughters birth !. But I digress , yes there were a few cobwebs , it is chalky in that part of Kent so floor tiles are bound to reflect that , but overall I would say the formula worked , and we will be going back in the Spring for another dose of that Pluckley magic . Didn't see any ghost's , but did jump out on Beverly , so sorry about that , you must have heard the hysterical screaming in Maidstone . So keep up the good work Simon and the crew , see you when the sun comes out !!.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A lovely pre Christmas break...excellent in every way. Thank you Elvey farm. We cannot wait to come back in the spring. Food was excellent, room clean and very cosy and location perfect, all of the staff were extremely helpful and kind. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had to book something at the very last minute due to a cancellation of a weekend to Prague and I was delighted to find availability here at an extremely good price. What a gem this place is. We were shown to the Sevenoaks suite, which was right next to the entrance, by a lovely young lady and on first impressions we were really impressed. We've stayed in some very lovely (and pricey) places before and this was definitely on a par with anywhere we've stayed before.
Yes, you could hear the neighbours chatting a little but it didn't matter, as I doubt you get any rowdy types here!
We spent a tranquil hour or so in the bar by the roaring log fire, listening to Xmas music and testing the local wine (highly recommended). When I mentioned I was a little peckish, the charming man serving us, brought me up some delicious little mince pies.
I don't want keep waffling on about how lovely this place is, so will just say: gorgeous soft bed linen, fab nights sleep, fluffy big towels, idyllic surroundings and delicious food. We will be back and the hardest decision will be which room to try out next!! Thanks so much for giving us a treat after our disappointment of not being able to get to Prague! This certainly helped make up for it!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked Elvey a month or so ahead, together with a table in the restaurant, as a pre Christmas night away for my wife and I, leaving dogs and teenage girls at home. And what a treat! Everything went exactly to plan, a quick and easy journey from our home in Surrey, a nice welcome despite us being early and a wedding in progress and a lovely room in the stable block (Faversham). Our room was comfortable, clean, peaceful and atmospheric with its mood lighting. We chilled in the room, took a short walk, showered in the fab spacious shower and enjoyed a bottle of bubbly in the room before moving on to a sumptuous dinner. The service was perfect, helpful and friendly, the venison the best I have ever had, the wine perfect. We retired to the bar with full bellies for a nightcap in front of the fire and then back to our comfy bed. It was very peaceful and we slept like logs! A leisurely breakfast was as others have said, beautifully cooked and presented using the best local ingredients.
So Elvey matched up very much to our expectations in comfort, service, style and food. Maybe next time we will bring dogs or even children, then again we might just keep it as a little hide away for pampering ourselves. We will be back though!
Thanks so much to the friendly staff and the calm environment that has been created at Elvey farm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at Elvey Farm in Sept. for 6 nights. We had the Penhurst suite for the first 5, then moved into the stables area since our room was already booked.
We had a wonderful time. Simon, Elsie and John with the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. It's location is in a great part of Kent, as we wanted to see as much of Kentish countryside as we could. Pluckley and Elvey Farm are really situated well in the middle of things.
Our room was lovely. Very large. The food here for dinner was wonderful. We had breakfast here every morning, but found ourselves coming back for dinner at night as it was so great. I love that Simon sources food, coffee, juices etc. from local Kent suppliers.
I would recommend Elvey Farm highly and plan to come back in the future!

Room Tip: The suites are a bit more, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Address: Elvey Lane, Pluckley TN27 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvey Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.