We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced sea facing hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Hotel
Save
You added Sherwood Hotel to your Saves list
8 Ethelbert Crescent, Margate, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Rutland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced sea facing hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at this hotel as a base to tour the Kent coast. The hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town which is no problem if the weather is okay. We had a family room on the first floor with a sea view and balcony. The room was fairly small with mismatched furniture and very dated. The shower room was small but adequate, although the flooring stapled to the shower side was a bit shoddy. Having said all this, the room was clean and considering the charge of £60 per night was acceptable. The beds were reasonably comfortable and towels a good size (some hotels are very mean with their bath towels) and fluffy. The owner was friendly and the young girl, Eds, who seemed to do everything, was very helpful and cooked a good breakfast.

We enjoyed the breakfast room in the basement which was very quirky with its gingham tablecloths and cuckoo clock and it was the reception, and bar as well. I was pleased it had a television which was on in the mornings as I hate sitting in silence with other guests at breakfast. All in all a reasonably priced hotel if you are staying in this area. The biggest downside to Margate was its lack of decent restaurants. Luckily, we popped into the Olde Sweet Shop in the old town and he recommended The Ambrette – a modern Indian restaurant and Mullins Brasserie which served Carribean and European food. Both excellent and worth a visit. Ask for the Jerk chicken at the latter – I always wanted to try this dish and so glad I did. It was delicious. See separate reviews of these restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast is lovely and owner/staff friendly. Toilets/showers are minute, far far too small really. Beds are comfortable and its facing the sea. Parking is plentiful in the streets around though the area is a little run down. Overall its fine for a couple of nights or longer if touring the area and need a base.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger006, Manager at Sherwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you very much Alan for staying with us . It was a pleasure.

We hope to see you again and all the best.

Mr. Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

On arrival was greeted, shown our room all good so far, room was a bit dated but looked clean, went to move single bed and found dirty boxer shorts, looked by wardrobe and found a dirty top. Shower facility's dated but clean, if these few problems are rectified I would stay again, nice people, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger006, Manager at Sherwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Since this review, I strictly required my Housekeeper to check everything (under the beds wardrobes, chestdrawer, bedside table).

All the best,

Mr. Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have had to stay here twice now as other hotels have been fully booked, both times we had the same room, the 1st time we were there, we noticed the family room wasn't family orientated!
The mirror wasn't fixed to the wall, so we had to lay it on top of the wardrobe in case it fell on one of the little ones, the old fashioned basic chair was broken, so no one could use it, TV reception was none existent, the 2 single beds were NOT ideal for kiddies - One was against a large window - ( by the way, the view was great for anyone who doesn't mind scaffolding and other people looking in!) and the other was against a large heater, so they had to have the double bed while we had the singles.
The toilet/shower, seriously, the ones you find on a plane are bigger than this!!!!
The area is very run down, we had to keep moving the car as groups would hang around ..
On the 2nd visit (Due to family circumstances, we had no choice but to stay here as all others were full!), we got the same room .... the Mirror was still on the wardrobe where we left it a month before - including 3 large pebbles we put there and forgot about!
We decided to leave the room and go for a stroll along the beach that evening, and the stench of DRUGS was very imense, by the time we came back, this had been over powered by a strong air freshener which literally stung our eyes as we walked upstairs!

To add insult to injury, as our little ones had to have the double bed, which is higher than standards, our daughter fell out of bed that night and cut her face on the bedside unit :@

To top it off, the bed side lamps didn't work, my husband had to trek someone down to ask for a new bulb, and we had to sort it :/ And a group of drunken or drugged up people decide it would be fun to slam doors at 4.30am, while setting the smoke alarms off - Where were the owners when all this was happening????

The only good thing about this stay was leaving!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger006, Manager at Sherwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and its very unfortunate that you have experienced such service and to let you know that we have taken actions needed. We were sorry for the inconvenience.

Margate is currently regenerating and hopefully it would be a better place , however, you can still enjoy the Margate & Palm bay seafront, The Turner Centre and funfair during summer. Broadstairs & Ramsgate are nice towns nearby.

We have just to point out the following :

1. Scaffolding is outside the hotel premises and theres nothing we can do with that if a neighbour wants to renovate their property, but scaffolding has now long gone.

2. We have loads of guests, we cannot control if they get drunk after clubbing and setting a fire alarm. This is a No smoking hotel, unfortunately some guest dont know how to follow rules. It was very unfortunate that it happened on the night you stayed but it doesnt happen all the time. Someone is at the hotel 24 hours if need an assistance and we advise every guest what has to be done if they have problem.

3. There are 2 mirrors on that room . One is fixed on the wall and one at top of the sink w/c was securely place. I really dont understand the mirror on the wardrobe though coz theres was no mirror on it ever since.

4. If the bedside table lamp was not working , it must be due to power trip but my housekeeper remembered you and she offered to go and put the bulb herself but your husband said he can do it and not to worry.

With regards to air freshener, someone must have overused it when they used the toilet downstairs, again not our control.but its not happening everyday. the chair at the room has been removed .

5. Our apology about the pebbles must have overlooked and with regards to toilet & shower, its standard size but i do understand if some guests prefer a huge one.

6. We are currently in the process of replacing all TVs due to digital switchover so all TVs by May 15, 2012 are working properly.

7. All beds are standard size, single or double -- 2 single room on that Family room you got is safer than Bunk beds as the 2 single Beds are place side by side (and the other single bed lean against the wall not the window) usually most family prefer this one.

Again, our apology and we tried to rectify things that we can. We wish that you talked to us about this before you left the hotel .

All the best,

Mr. Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The location of the hotel was quite run down and noisy at night time. However the hotel was clean and attractive on the inside, and the manager, Roger was almost overly friendly. The rooms were clean and functional, and there was a front lounge/reception area with a pool table. The breakfast was good though not the best I have had. The housekeeper did not speak very clear English and was rather un-charismatic. However she obviously took a pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel. For the money, I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béziers
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Where to start!!
"Your room key/lock doesn't work very well, you have to wiggle it about a bit". It took us 3 minutes to get into our room one night.
"You'll have to run the water for a little while so the hot water gets up to the 3rd floor". Is waiting 8 minutes long enough for hot water to reach the shower or hand basin!!!
Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room but we did not have clean cups exchanged for the used ones.
Tv and lamp wired into the same mains plug.............isn't that illegal and against the fire regulations?
Ceiling light, just a bare bulb.
When the hot water FINALLY reached the 3rd floor (after wasting all of that cold water) the shower leaked like a sieve all over the shower room floor.
Only 4 dirty, partly broken hangers in the rickerty wardrobe.
The room stank all of the time.
Breakfast, it was supposed to be "Full English". We were offered: 2, 10p tiny plastic sausages, 2 rashers of bacon, an egg (fried, no choice), soggy mushrooms and EITHER baked beans or tinned tomatoes, plus a slice of toast each. We were offered a small glass of orange juice and then the jug was taken away. There was also a selection of 2 or 3 cereals and jams.
We had to pay on arrival, which ok, is "the done thing" but the "Managers" were nowhere on site, so the morning we left, there wasn't anybody there - apart from the little lady staff member who had been "looking after us" the whole time we had been at the hotel - for us to express our concerns to.
We did e-mail them on our return home and ask them to contact us so that we could discuss our "issues" (that was last Friday 13th), as yet, we have heard nothing from the managers Roger & Natasha.
So, we are afraid, the "hotel" doesn't "do what it says on the tin". Via their website, we NEVER saw the bedroom that is advertised, there wasn't a "warm, friendly, family atmosphere" awaiting us. NO "great hospitality and quality service from resident managers". They DID NOT "ensure our highest satisfaction" anf they DID NOT "make our stay pleasurable" but they certainly made it "memorable" but for all of the WRONG reasons.
Please, please, please do NOT waste your money staying at this "hotel" !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my daughter whilst visiting Winter Gardens! A lovely welcome awaits and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful! A wonderful full English breakfast freshly cooked and very delicious! I would definately recommend this hotel with its clean rooms, friendly service and lovely sea views!!!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Hotel

Address: 8 Ethelbert Crescent, Margate, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Hotel is situated along the seafront in Cliftonville, Margate. We offer 10 comfortable bedrooms many offers overlooking sea-view rooms with En-suite facilities and rates in inclusive of Full English Breakfast. We are closely located to Margate Main Sands, Winter Gardens, Margate Theatre Royal, Circus Casino, restaurants, pubs and clubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.