We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent always a lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Smiths Court Hotel to your Saves list
Smiths Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Margate
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent always a lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis as I'm often working on kent. The hotel is very welcoming, the staff are very friendly and helpful oh and not to forget the great views from the sea front rooms.

Food is lovey too in often eat there and the chef won't hesitate to offer something that may not even be in the menu. :) very happy and will Continue to keep coming to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. As one of a number of semi-regular faces, we are always happy to see you staying with us. We are happy that you continue to choose us for your stays in Kent, and we are delighted that you enjoy the food, the views and the service that we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    61
    27
    21
    12
See reviews for
24
81
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow I cant rate this venue enough. Lovely rooms great service friendly staff. Our wedding was amazing and all the guests said it was the best wedding food ever. Will be visiting again. And a big thank you to abbie and tony the owners who really go above and beyond. :-D

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We were delighted to share your special day, and we are delighted that you chose to spend that day in our hotel. We hope that you come back to see us again in the future, and we thank you for your personal comments about us - those kind of comments really do make everything worthwhile! Congratulations from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Perfect venue for the ceremony, full wedding breakfast & evening reception without all the normal hidden extras. Offers the full package within a large venue, good quality food and fantastic staff making our day fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We love hosting weddings, and we are delighted that your day was fantastic. We are so privileged to be able to share a couple's special day, and we are so happy that you enjoyed that day with us. We wish you every success in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Well where do I begin, excellent from the moment we walked in. Nothing too much trouble, staff friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are spotless with comfortable beds, a large t.v. and two comfortable chairs so you can sit and admire the lovely sea view. The bathroom was nice and modern with a lovely hot shower. The food was of a much higher standard than you would expect of a hotel of this rating, with a good choice of breakfast and an excellent evening meal in the orangery, which is beautifully decorated to a very high standard. All in all a lovely stay and we are sure our party will have a wonderful holiday. We have no worries at all about bringing them here. We have been organizing holidays for our club for twenty years and this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever used. I am sure we will be back time and time again, already looking forward to the next time. To Abbey and all her staff a great big thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: You only have to ask for your requirements and the staff and management will go out of their way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel bedroom, that you found the staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the food with us. Chef is particularly happy with the comment that you found the food to be of a much higher rating than you would expect!

We look forward to welcoming your group later in the year, and then hopefully in years to come as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed in hotels of far higher standing than the Smiths Court, and many of them would do well to look here for an example of how to run a hotel. I stayed with my wife and friends for a weekend away, and throughout the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a buffet bar for cereal, fresh fruit and fruit salad etc. The cooked breakfast is cooked to order. Evening meals in the Orangery restaurant were fantastic, with a standard menu supplemented by daily specials. Orders for evening meals were taken in the bar, and then the party was called through when the first course was ready to be served, although we could have chosen to sit down and order if we had wished. I have to say I was impressed with the en suite kitchen, although I suspect not all rooms have this facility! It is just a shame our stay was too short to warrant it's use. I have to say I wasn't overly attracted to Margate itself, but there are plenty of other attractions within a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. I don't think there is much better praise than holding us up as an example of how to run a hotel, and for that we thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meal, as well as the rooms, and we hope that if you are ever in our neck of the woods again that you pop by and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Feb....don't know where to start!! Reception on arrival was curt and rude. Room was like something from a time warped,albeit clean and sufficed. Breakfast service first morning was farcical....no staff to be seen, no fruit or yoghurt as per menu and when we asked for some was offered a banana or apple. When we stated we assumed it would be a fruit salad,we were told we only do that every other day...obviously the wrong day! No staff or fruit appeared the next day either however by which time we had lost the will to live. Put this one down to experience I think!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad you found the room clean, although most reviewers who have mentioned the Executive rooms have found the bay window with sea view, the large seating area and the new bed worth mentioning, especially after a free upgrade to the executive room.

We were interested to read that you didn't see any staff, as my wife and I sat you and served you for breakfast. We offered you a piece of fruit before bringing you a bowl of fresh fruit salad from the kitchen, along with the cold buffet and the cooked breakfast.

You also mentioned that you had enjoyed your stay and didn't experience any problems when you checked out with us, but we will also put this down to experience.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel, & thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. The welcome we received from the staff was excellent. The food was fantastic. Lovely sea view from our room. Complimentary bottle of champagne & chocolates were left in our room when we had finished our meal, lovely touch. We will certainly stay here again & again.

Room Tip: The sea rooms are excellent. Large comfortable bed with large television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your great 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the meal and the room. We would look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.