We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as soon as ou walk in you were made to feel at home,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Guest House

The Bear Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bear Guest House
12 Buenos Ayres | Margate, Kent., Margate CT9 5AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Margate B&B and Inns
essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“as soon as ou walk in you were made to feel at home,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

nice lady, friendly and chatty, rooms were nice tv big, shower cold but we didnt ask if it could go up higher, breakfast was ok lots on offer, very close to sea-front, we defo go there again, thank you

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Sharon and Tony run a very warm, friendly, guest house which is fantastic value for money. Lovely shower in your room, huge television and genius cooking. AND it's on the sea front and right next to the train station. What more could you want? All hotel's should be like this.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We found the Bear clean, comfortable and child friendly. Location is excellent. We had the family room on the top floor so a great sea view. Helpful, welcoming hosts. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Margate area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

What can I say!? This is a unique and lovely place! Every part of this house has a story to tell. It has been decorated and emblazoned with images, paintings, photographs in a way that makes this place unique. The proprietors were very friendly and the breakfasts were of the Full English variety and really did prepare you for the rest of the day!. A lot of thought has gone into the interior of this house, and it really is a work of art. I had a very happy stay there, I'd recommend it to anyone who disliked boredom, because this is the very opposite! Life breathes through this house!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The room wasn't very good, We got there and the room wasn't ready, We had to wait,.but when you walk through the front doorit was so unwelcoming. The Landlady was smoking in there as we entered. I couldn't believe it. the place is so cluttered with everything you could ever imagine, If there was a fire you would be lucky to get out .You have to see this to believe it. Im just glad i didn't bring my children , If I did I would have had to go somewhere else. I had to keep telling myself it was just for one night, as i didn't book this place someone else did who has apologised as they didn't know. She lets people smoke in the rooms so if you are a non smoker this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shar0nwillis, OWNER at The Bear Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Robertsalondon, unfortunately sometimes guest's rooms aren't ready for instant occupation, as we have an 11.00 checkout time, and the rooms have to be cleaned and the beds changed.

We do not discriminate against smokers, but do our best to ensure the rooms are not unpleasant for our non-smoking visitors. You are quite right in assuming we would not suit anyone who is totally against smoking.

The house is decorated in an eclectic style. Had you made your feelings clear to me, I would've tried to find you accommodation more suited to your requirements. You cannot hold the person who booked this guest house responsible for the fact that you were unhappy. Perhaps you had better book your own room in future.

It is ludicrous to suggest in the event of fire your exit would have been impeded. We comply with all fire and health and safety regulations, and as this is our home, it is not just the welfare of our guests that is a consideration.

We welcome constructive criticism, and have a great respect for guests who allow us to share their opinions and concerns, before they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrSeuss75
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I stayed over Easter for a few nights & found the place an excellent value B&B (plus the landlady doesn't increase prices over holiday periods). Both the owners were friendly & helpful. I liked the fact that you could have breakfast later than usual, therefore allowing a lay-in. Check-out was 11am.

The place is about a two minute walk from the train station & the same to the main beach, which is lovely (has a Blue Flag award). If you're into beaches (as I am), other nice ones are Minnis Bay, Westgate, Palm Bay & Joss Bay to name a few.

I stayed in a double front facing room (No 4) on the 2nd floor which had a wonderful sea view. The room was very comfortable & decorated to a good standard (fridge, kettle, dvd, tv etc). The building is Georgian & listed so not all room have full ensuites but most have showers (the toilets are located nearby & are very clean). The place is homely & throughout there are many items displayed from the owners travels, which makes it both eclectic & individual. You can tell the place is loved.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Myself and my partner needed to stay in the Margate area for a family event. We stayed for two nights over the weekend and found the place welcoming, very clean and good value. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Bear.

SW11, London

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bear Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Guest House

Address: 12 Buenos Ayres | Margate, Kent., Margate CT9 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Also Known As:
The Bear Guest House Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bear Guest House to your Saves list