We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Margate
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent overall service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A Birthday treat made extra special by the excellent service provided by the friendly staff, in a lovely hotel on par with some of the best hotels I have visited in Las Vegas. The Super Sunday deal is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose any of the rooms overlooking the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
126
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the sands hotel margate for my husbands birthday .the hotel is in an excellent position over looking the beautiful sands of Margate. The decor of the hotel was beautiful even little details with a very relaxed and comfortable feel about the place. The staff were very friendly and attentive we would defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Sea view room would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I must say my wife and I have stayed in some lovely hotels and this is right up there with the best , the staff , food and rooms deserve 5 stars the girl on reception also deserves a special mention for going out her way to organise my booking at such short notice, would I stay again , can't wait !!!! Steve

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have Just stayed here
Best place to stay margate
Recommend room with sea view fantastic
Had a nice meal and really enjoyed our weekend lots of local places to vist broadstairs , Canterbury , westgate well worth a vist

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to the Sands. The first bring the August Bank Holiday 2012. This time we booked a Valentines Package for just my husband and myself. We had a deal, where we stayed two nights but ending up staying another night on the Sunday special deal. Every meal, breakfast and afternoon was delicious. We had the attic room with sea view, and it really was stunning. We will certainly be back. Margate has improved just a little since our last visit. But even if you just want to chill out and venture outside then this hotel has it all.

Room Tip: They do special deals on one thursday in the month and on a sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel is situated on the edge of the old town which has some great 'Brighton'esq' shops and cafes. The rest of Margate is less appealing. Handily situated for visiting other places such as Broadstairs, Whitstable and Canterbury. Hotel stunning, no expense spared and food excellent too. Only critiscism is around lack of available parking despite having booked several weeks out. We were directed to the local Morrisons car park which we were not comfortable leaving our car in overnight, plus would have had to have returned to put an extra ticket on very early on the Sunday morning. Staff all friendly but service could have been better. Plates not cleared before coffee brought out after dinner or breakfast. All in all, beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a seaview. Stunning views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Valentine's package as a surprise for my husband and was so pleased I did. We both had a great time. Don't be put off by the fact it's in Margate - it's definitely on the up! We thoroughly enjoyed a long walk along the seafront after being coupled up indoors with all the rain.The room was amazing (we were in a classic sea view); beautifully designed with gorgeous mirrors, lamps etc and a stunning bathroom. We had breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea and all of them were beautiful and served by friendly staff.

We're sure this is a hotel to watch and look forward to seeing Margate lose it's image if being 'a bit seedy' as my friends referred to it.

Tip: Don't forget to write down the address as we missed it 3 times driving along the seafront!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.