We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in very nice surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Gate Indian Restaurant & Takeaway

Masala Gate Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
10 Duke Street, Margate CT9 1EP, England
01843 228877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 131 Restaurants in Margate
Price range: $19 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A brand new restaurant in Margate, offering the True Taste of Authentic Indian Cuisine. Quality food at reasonable prices. Masala Gate offers the True Taste of Authentic Indian Cuisine in the Old Town of Margate. Unlike many other restaurants we offer the True Taste of Authentic Indian Cuisine. If you are becoming tired of the same old highly commercial, mass produced Indian food, and are looking to taste Authentic Indian Cuisine, please visit us. We promise that you will have the very best dining experience of fine Indian cuisine that you can possibly imagine. Each of our dishes is cooked with a very precise balance of spices and other ingredients to achieve the True Taste of Authentic Indian Cuisine. We have highly professional chefs with many years of experience preparing fine Indian cuisine . If you are not in the East Kent area, we also have restaurants in Chichester & Canterbury.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in very nice surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Out first visit, food was great, staff very attentive and a nice atmosphere.
Much nicer environment than your average indian
Well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have now been to Masala Gate for the 4th time in the last 2 months and have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone. The food is great and the staff are very attentive and friendly. I will definitely be going back in the near future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Masala Gate - A cut above!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having had a takeaway from here and registered online, we got a fantastic offer from the restaurant, 50% off starters and mains for dining in. That was unbeatable, so I went with my son. The food here is definitely above the standard you normally find in an Indian Restaurant, with some unusual dishes. We had poppadoms followed by garlic prawns (son) and crab cake (me), which were both delicious. My son then ordered the garlic chilli chicken and I had the tandoori prawns, both very spicy and quite delicious. With an aloo ghobi on the side and some pilau rice and nan, we were stuffed, so we cant tell you about the sweets!

The presentation and flavours are leaning towards the Ambrette, but with a more traditional curry and larger portions. Our whole bill, including several beers and bottles of water was only 44 pounds (using the offer) which is fantastic value. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I highly recommend the restaurant.

If I'm going to be picky, it was a little cold inside on a very cold night outside, despite being next to a radiant heater. They need to get this right, it was the only thing that could have been improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Visited the newly opened restaurant in Margate recently and was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food, the friendly service and the fantastic atmosphere. Prices were reasonable and there was a wide variety on the menu. Gorgeous decoration and lovely staff. Would definitely recommend the restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night, great value, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Just got home after having a great meal at the masala gate. Great atmosphere, service was excellent with very friendly staff. Really good food great value for money very tasty. Recommend to all:-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Gate Indian Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Westbrook, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Masala Gate Indian Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Gate Indian Restaurant & Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.