We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well preserved and memorable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walpole Bay Hotel
Save
You added Walpole Bay Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fifth Avenue, Margate CT9 2JJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Margate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well preserved and memorable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a whim when visiting Margate a few weeks ago. We had a weekend return train ticket and decided at the last minute to stay overnight, only to find the town booked out due to a convention. When we arrived at the Walpole Bay we had no idea what an unusual hotel it was.
The vintage pieces, particularly the beautiful lift - were fun to be surrounded by and our room was very nice, with a really comfortable bed. However it is a destination hotel - we were there at the same time as a very loud wedding was taking place. The other downside is that guests seem to leave the antique lift door open despite all the signs asking them not to, which is frustrating as this stops it working. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    87
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
56
140
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night to attend a 70th birthday party. The hotel provided an excellent hot and cold buffet on the Saturday evening and we then moved downstairs for a disco.
The hotel is quite different with most of the rooms being in their original condition including original features but with the addition of modern heating and up to date bathrooms. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast with food of the highest quality. Our room was a double with a bathroom next door and a communicating room to a single room so could be ideal for family use.
Well worth a visit whatever the reason for your stay and particularly recommended for wedding or familt parties.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the past 7 years. The staff, from the charming and helpful Natalie, to the glamorous and charming hostess Jane, are always helpful and determined that everyone enjoys their stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience proper of old fashioned service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really different, full of fascinating artefacts and the lift is great fun. Comfortable and warm rooms, we had afternoon tea served properly. Great breakfast and the staff were extremely helpful. This was our 4th stay and will always make this our stop when in the area. Also good sea views, although not tempted to go for a walk as very cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is a real find. I found it over 10 years ago. It is a charming and unique place - quite unlike the anonymous hotels that are everywhere nowadays.It is full of character and comfort. The public spaces are a huge feature - the bar has lovely squashy sofas and grandfather chairs; the dining room is stylish and Edwardian and the foyer deserves a tripadvisor page of its own. Food is great and it is a warm and hospitable place with friendly and efficient staff.
I have visited it as a guest when I was visiting East Kent; I have been a guest at two parties there and I have held three major parties of my own there. We have taken over the hotel and filled it with party guests from London and all over the UK/world, and we have never been disappointed. Now with Margate becoming such an interesting place I think the Walpole Bay is a must for visitors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

clean rooms, nice staff, good breakfast. however bit creepy and too old fashioned. i understand that this is what certain people are after however not for us. everything else about the hotel was great but just a bit too old-fashioned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here whilst attending a wedding in Margate. Not perhaps the best time to visit the town, but the hotel was a warm welcoming oasis in a wind and snow swept landscape. Breakfast was excellent. Served in our room on Sunday morning as part of a 'celebration package' which included champagne, flowers and choccies. Definitely worth a visit if you find yourself in the area and like your hotel to be a bit eclectic!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue, Margate CT9 2JJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#3 Family Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walpole Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.