We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bathroom with double-ended, roll-top bath and separate shower
Bathroom with double-ended, roll-top bath and separate shower
Bathroom with double-ended, roll-top bath and separate shower
Looking out over the Winter Gardens in the Margate direction
Comfortable lounge with Dan Bass' photography
Master bedroom with more Dan Bass photography
Fully integrated kitchen
Margate
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DebsyGris...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staycation in England, then choose this apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Extremely impressed with the apartment. The decor is lovely, very clean and very bright. We loved the Velux windows, a view up to the sky and stars and the big windows in the front rooms looking out to sea. The paintings added a sophisticated yet homely feel to each room. The apartment was very clean and we were really impressed with everything that was supplied in the kitchen. Lastly, the bathroom is absolutely beautiful, spacious bath and walk-in shower with plenty of constant hot water and soft fluffy towels.

We were also extremely impressed with Josh. His friendly, but efficient manner, settled us in straightaway. He explained everything thoroughly; had a lot of great information about Margate and we felt happy that he was available should we have needed to contact him.

Margate itself has, unfortunately, seen better days, but so have a lot of our costal 'Victorian' towns. The Old Town consists of retro-shops, bars, restaurants and colourful, artistic people. Vibrant and a 'must-see'.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything about the apartment
Liked least: Required regeneration of some parts of Margate
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andy B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish apartment up high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A stylishly fitted out modern penthouse with all mod cons. Well equipped and warm and comfortable. Six flights of floors are a big haul with suitcases, but the views of the sea are lovely. Only drawback is the lack of parking and the location, as it's set on the fringe of a very run-down area of margate and this does detract from an otherwise gods holiday experience. Property agent ( The Property Tree) couldn't be more helpful and professional and are recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The overall design of the penthouse
Liked least: The shabby location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JulieOKC
OKC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved Margate & the Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were instructed to give Josh a call when we arrived in Margate to receive the key. He met us promptly at the Rockville Penthouse and showed us around the apartment and instructed us on how to work TV, etc. A lovely surprize was that the apartment provided a loaf of bread, butter, 2 jellies, juice, milk, and coffee so we didn't have to go out for breakfast any of the 4 mornings that we were there. Beds are comfortable, apartment is quiet, and the pictures on the website true. If you enjoy a lovely view of the ocean you will love this apartment. There is a lovely big bathtub to soak in with a skylight above. Margate was a quirky little town that we loved. The apartment is well located and we never needed our car. Of our 2 weeks in England, we had some of our best meals in Margate.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pamela F
Harrow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, high standard apartment with wonderful sea views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just spent a great 3 days visiting Margate and taking the bus round the Loop to Ramsgate and Margate as well.It was a really good trip despite the cold and windy weather. Margate's Old Town and galleries are fascinating and the other towns have plenty of shops, bars and cafes to keep the winter visitor engaged. The best thing about the trip was the apartment. Wonderful sea views, a high standard of attractive furnishing, and a well equipped kitchen. Nice and warm, with comfortable beds.
We felt very welcome and appreciated the supplies of milk, tea/coffee etc provided.
We hope to visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The space and comfort
Liked least: The shabby exterior, and the stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alsies S
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A weekend To Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My partner and I thought we would try a weekend in Margate to get our lives back on track again. How delighted we were to find that our weekend in Margate turned into a Break of a life time. let me explain..
The sea views were just the beginning in this wonderfully appointed apartment. We lazed around for breakfast using the well appointed kitchen and lunch and dinner were just a hop skip and a jump out of the front door. Margate old town (5 minutes walk) boasts fine hostelries and shopping, I must admit I preferred the hostelry while my partner loved the little shops which are dotted all over town.
At the end of the day this snug little apartment was just the place to return for a comfortable and fitful nights sleep.
In short well located, well appointed and perfect for the weekend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Seafront position and proximity to the old town
Liked least: Parking can be a little difficult
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jonathan...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a view! What comfort! What a great weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

In cold mid January, against all expectation, my wife and I spent a wonderful long weekend in this penthouse. Apart from the standard of furnishings and the comfort I was really impressed with the high number of kitchen implements. I love cooking and often find that short-term rental properties are equipped to the very bare minimum, but not this one, it even had measuring spoons! The views are excellent, the accommodation spacious, and the agent was happy to give me lots of ideas on places to go.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Being an enthusiastic cook I liked the kitchen and its equipment best
Liked least: Ideally we would have taken our dogs but it actually added to the sense of it being a break.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PigletOxf...
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, comfortable and well equipped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

With the arrival of our baby girl in May, we were looking for a British, seaside holiday to spend our first week away as a family and decided on Margate. Margate has received a lot of positive publicity recently with the opening of the Turner centre and with that, the development of interesting shops, cafes and the rejuvination of the pier. We also wanted to stay in quality accommodation and chose Rockville Penthouse based on the Internet pictures. We were not disappointed in either choice!

The penthouse is beautifully situated, far enough away from the noise of the town centre but still only a short and easy walk away from all the amenities including the Turner Centre. The accommodation is light, airy, comfortable and tastefully decorated. It was well equipped and we wanted for nothing. It is even nicer than the Internet pictures and the sea views are amazing.

We had an extremely relaxing week in Margate and as it was our first ever family holiday it will always have a special place in our hearts. I suspect that we will be back in Margate again and look forward to staying at Rockville Penthouse again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views, the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$129
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Fiona S
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing