We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hornby Visitor Centre

The Hornby Visitor Centre
Westwood Industrial Estate, Enterprise Road | Westwood, Margate CT9 4JX, England
+44 1843 233524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Attractions in Margate
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hornby Visitor Centre takes you on a fascinating journey through the history of Britain's best loved toys. The Visitor Centre also hosts a well stocked shop and the Just the Ticket Cafe. Pocher Model Exhibition being shown at the Centre, this exhibition features 24 rare and sought after Pocher models including the Fiat F2 130HP Racer. Airfix D-Day Exhibition new for 2014, this exhibition helps commemorate one of the most important days of the last century. The exhibition features a huge multi-media diorama supported by displays setting out some of the ket stories from the 'Day of Days'.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking to take some Australian friends who were originallu from England to somewhere different . I had been here some time ago with my grandson . They really enjoyed looking at all the displays which took them back to childhood memories and I would always state that a visit no matter your age is a must .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    19
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was reluctant to visit, as trains is my husband,s thing but actually I really enjoyed it, it did not take us long so don't plan for all day but my two year old enjoyed it, I would have liked it to be more interactive for young ones but overall we enjoyed it. We also ate in the cafe the salad I had was lovely, my husband had the full breakfast and the egg was not cooked, my little ones meal was fine and good sized portions.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A trainlovers paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Well set out and interesting exhibition of every train ever built by Hornby and although we are elderly we still enjoyed the walk through train history.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dust off those airfix kits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second visit to what is a very nostalgic and memory provoking location. There's just so much that takes me back to my childhood.
Our main reason for visiting this time was to see the D-Day diorama assembled by local modellers using Airfix kits - this is certainly impressive. Not only in sheer size and scale but the level of detail that they have included - a great example of what a little bit of plastic, some paint and a lot of patience can actually achieve. The real (borrowed) military vehicles located in the same room help to nicely set the scene.
Don't forget to visit the shop - especially the discounted section - for the second year in a row I managed to pick up and absolute bargain!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth a look for grown up kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Like others have said, not sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. If you have a couple of hours to spare it caters for all ages. Plenty to see makes you wish you were more careful as a child. The detail on some of the models is amazing. It's not a day trip but worth £ 12.50 for a family for a couple of hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hornby Visitor Centre also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Hornby Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hornby Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.