We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Save
You added The Reading Rooms to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 14 Margate B&B and Inns
rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Only live 40 miles away but fancied a change of 4 walls for a night away from home with wife and have been to Margate many many times but have never stayed over and we could not have found a better place to stay. We stayed in room 2 on the 21st of September and everything from the last minute booking to the welcome to the suggestions for dinner to the breakfast was just everything you could want.I have spent 25 years in the airline business, most of it training customer service staff and I can assure anyone that Liam and Louise lived up to everything I used to teach (or maybe preach) and we will certainly be back for a longer visit next time as I now have a completely different opinion of the town..A big thankyou from John and Sue

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thanks very much for your kind feedback and review of your stay with us. And from a professional!1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
132
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed for two nights in Room 1. Comfortable bed, huge breakfasts (freshly squeezed juice was a highlight), some niggles with the layout eg TV location and nowhere to put towels near the shower or the sink. Margate was pleasant for a short break, and it is interesting to see it in its current up and coming form before the Tate opens and the regeneration is complete. We ate at the Ambrette and Bangkok Thai and both were superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. Very glad you enjoyed two of our favourite restaurants. Sorry you thought the TV out of place. We tried hard to find how to place it and having road tested all the rooms ourselves it's good to get feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Louise and Liam have opened a relaxed and relaxing B&B which honors its 18th century roots but includes totally modern bathrooms and very nice linens. To me it was a nice balance between getting the individual attention a small B&B offers and the privacy a larger hotel can offer. There is only one room on each floor and breakfast (and what a breakfast!) is delivered to your room at the time you specifiy so you can interact with the other guests as little or as much as you want. My husband and I felt very energized after our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback on your stay with us. It's much appreciated. You were great guests and helped us tips on places and sights to visit in our area that we haven't managed to check out yet such as nearby castles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

A really gorgeous room, and stunning bathroom, in the most beautiful and thoughtfully decorated house, I could not have wished for a better birthday treat. The bed was sumptuous and very comfy, with soft white bedlinen and wonderful pillows. The breakfast, which was better than I have had in all the other hotels I have ever stayed in, was extremely well composed and magnificently presented. I have absolutely no concerns in thoroughly and highly recommending The Reading Rooms to anyone who wishes a very private, peaceful and romantic break and hope very much that, with the further development of Margate, the owners continue to enjoy great success.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thanks very much for your kind feedback. Makes it all worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Had one night only at The Reading Rooms(room2)which we would describe as Fagin chic .Three tall windows overlooked the Georgian square & gardens "picture perfect" the large bedroom ,beautifull bed & huge bathroom total chillout with yummy Ren products,moroccon rose oil,neroli &grapefruit etc.....Breakfast is served in your room ,as you sit in white waffle robes ,lovin it !..Thanks to Liam & Louise .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRRMargate, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. Makes it all worthwhile! Glad you love the Ren products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

If we were heading back to Margate we wouldn't look at staying anywhere else. Louise and Liam have done a wonderful job of creating a fantastic B&B, and we loved our three nights there. We were fortunate enough to be given a peek at one of the other rooms (rm 1) in addition to the one we booked (rm 2) as the room was free during our stay, but we stuck to the one we originally booked.

Room 2 was as the others are - very spacious and well designed, and with an awesome bathroom. The bed was huge and comfortable, the windows let in plenty of light, and the bathroom was one of the best finished we have ever seen. All in all, a really luxurious little place to stay. Not having to get dressed and head downstairs for breakfast was just the icing on the cake! Breakfast was delivered to our room on time and freshly prepared each morning at our chosen time (Liam and Louise don't believe in imposing fixed hours for breakfast!), with local produce and freshly squeezed juices.

Margate itself is in need of some love, but hopefully with places like this trying to attract more visitors it will rise up in due course. The weather was extremely good while we were there and we enjoyed a fantastic walk to the very beautiful Botany Bay, and some other great walking by the beach. Louise and Liam know the area well and recommended places to go, and their restaurant recommendations on their website were spot on. The Indian Princess is well worth a visit (the most exciting Indian food we have ever had), and we ate in Broadstairs and Ramsgate as well - a taxi from Margate to either is less than £7. Margate lacks a lot of things to do and there are an awful lot of places that have closed down, which makes it feel a bit like a ghost town. We struggled to find somewhere just for a decent real ale to drink, but The Lifeboat came to our rescue. Like Louise and Liam, Julian of the Lifeboat is doing an amazing job of adding more quality to Margate - a must if you are in the area.

We don't know when we will next be back, but if we do come back to the Isle of Thanet, we won't look at staying anywhere else. Many thanks to the Reading Rooms for a wonderful little break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

A truly amazing place. For a quick retreat you couldn't find anything/anywhere better than this. They have renovated this building is an amazingly sympathetic way and the attention to detail is stunning.
Louise's restaurant suggestions are also incredible.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reading Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three large rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlook a tree lined historic square, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery and the Old Town area. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a rolltop bath, large walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke handcarved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reading Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.