We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and handy for the channel tunnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
The Red Lion
Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hythe B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice and handy for the channel tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived much earlier than expected but this was not a problem. We were checked in and the room was ready for us to use straight away. Food was good value for money. It was close to all town centre shops and more importantly for us it was close to the channel tunnel at Folkestone. Staff were all very friendly and we had secure parking for our motorbike overnight. Will definitely use again and can recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this roadside pub hotel while attending a private function there, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a warm and relaxed environment in a good old-fashioned pub with excellent catering (both the party and the breakfast) and good-natured, attentive staff at all hours of the day and night. The room is clean and a decent size, plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the bathroom and they have tried to smarten up the decor, but I don't think I would want to stay for more than one night because the mattress is a little saggy (but plenty of fluffy pillows and very comfy duvet) and the proximity to the busy road outside would make a lie-in difficult. The tv had a very small screen which also might be annoying if you were trying to watch it. We were entertained by a local 2-man band on a guitar and double bass called Jazz Police and they were excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

A pleasant pub b&b. Simple, not too many frills but honest and well priced.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We asked for a room with a kingsize bed which was a mistake as extractor fans for kitchen outside bathroom window and the windows in the bedroom faced out on to a roundabout. I can not stress how noisy this was, when we finally got to sleep we were woken throughout the night and early in the morning from lorries negotiating the roundabout. Customer service poor,cobwebs in chandelier in bedroom and long life milk out of date. The bathroom was lovely, spotless, modern,in sharp contrast to our room which had lovely bedding but all the furniture did not match and looked as though it had been bought from the Salvation Army.
Breakfast was good. Expensive for what we got .

Room Tip: Do not ask for a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I found the staff to be friendly & helpful, We ate in the restaurant & found them to be very accomodating.. I have young one's! Food was great, as was the breaky. Room was clean and spacious. Only thing that lets the place down is the reception area... really doesn't do the rest of the place justice, it's small! We had a great stay & will be returning

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

The tiny reception is at the back and the first thing that hit us was the dirty carpets. Our room was clean but small. No wardrobe -just two hooks with hangers on the wall behind the TV. The bathroom was clean and the shower was nice and hot. The bar area is tastefully decorate with a nice dining area. There were a number of smartly dessed people eating and the menu was imaginative - it seemed a good place for a meal but we had already booked a restaurant in town. The breakfast room was spacious and airy with scrubbed pine tables and breakfast was good. The owners obviously have flair and imagination so I can't understand why they don't spend a bit of money on reception to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the place. If you walked in on spec and saw it you would go straight back out. We would stay again but only for one night at a time as there was nowhere to put our stuff so we didn't unpack fully.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Being able to get away for trip to the Sout coast early and our main hotel being full, we took a late booking at the Red Lion for one night. It does describe itself as a B&B more than a hotel and this is a fair reflection of the place. Probably the worst thing about the whole experience is the reception - if I can call that. This is the back door of the building and is next to the bin store, with the smell of kitchen waste quite prominent! The reception was actually closed when we got there at around 5.30pm, but the key to our room had been left out and the chef let us in. The grubby stair carpet - mainly because of the position of the door I would suggest - did little to raise expectatons, but the room was perfectly ok, clean and quite cosy. the only real problem we had with the room was the fact that we couldn't get hot water out of the shower - it was hot at the basin, lukewarm at best in the shower. This would have been an issue if we were staying any longer than one night. The food was fine - we had dinner in the restaurant in the evening, nothing fancy, but everthing was well prepared and good quality. The breakfast was the same, good quality ingredients and plenty of it. I should mention the staff - I saw three of them, the chef mentioned earlier, the cleaning lady and the lady who did everything else - receptionist, waitress, barmaid, breakfast chef. I don't know her name - long red hair, quite attractive - but she worked very hard and I hope is appreciated.
So not bad on the whole, probably won't be racing back, but it served our purposes ok.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Square, Hythe CT21 5AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion's rooms are undergoing redecoration in Jan & February 2014. All our rooms are en-suite with TV and Wi-Fi. We are also very proud of our restaurant which serves freshly cooked to order, locally sourced food offering great value for money without compromising on quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hythe
Hythe Red Lion
Red Lion Hythe
The Red Lion Hythe, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.