We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seabrook House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seabrook House to your Saves list
Seabrook House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Seabrook Road, Hythe CT21 5QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Shed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Seabrook Hotel in August 2010 on our bicycle holiday.
We were given the ground floor room which we think would be better called the Shed. The mattresses were terrible and I could feel the springs.
The boiler wasn't turned all the way on so I had a luke warm shower.
The temperature was hot in one part of the room and cold in another.
The sausage, as part of the English breakfast, looked so over cooked that it appeared to be deep fried.
When we complained to the manager, we received no apology.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    15
    29
    47
See reviews for
33
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Managed to get a room here last minute as it was the only hotel in the area that had a room available on such short notice. I was a little put off staying after reading some of the comments left on this site, but I'm now very pleased we stayed there. The building itself was a beautiful victorian building, although the inside could do with new carpets. The location of the hotel was good for public transport, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel with regular services running to Dover, Folkestone and Hythe - handy as we did not have a car. Our room was clean and the shower worked perfectly. Most of the time it felt like we were the only people in the hotel because it was so quiet. The only time we came accross any other guests or members of staff were at breakfast time. Even when checking in there was no member of staff there to hand keys over - just a note with our names on and the room key. However this was not a bad point, it just added to the quirkiness of the hotel making our stay more memorable and fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

What a ....hole. We arrived with our 3 teenage children and were shown to room 8, the family room. Three of the beds were 'put up' beds with grotty blankets on and the double bed looked like it had not had the linen changed. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling down. There were wires showing from the ceiinng light and gaps all around the switches. Didn't look very safe. We requested to be moved and were given the flat. It was disgusting. My son wanted to use the toilet but it had faeces all over the seat. The kitchen was filthy too with fat all over the cooker top and the fridge had mould and hairs in it UGHHHH!!!!!!!! The balcony was covered in pigeon poo. The carpet was covered in mud and again the beds looked really grotty with dirty linen on. Shame as could be a lovely house. Needs lots of updating. There was only a young girl greeting guests and she really hated her job. I had to speak to the Manager on the phone and told her we were leaving after only being there for 1 hour. Never again. It really does need the Hotel Inspector in there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was the only place available at the time and we realised why when when we entered the hotel (!). Very dated and very large cracks in many walls. initial appearances of the room appeared clean, however two of the towels were dirty, there was no soap but half used shower gel, loo roll holder broken dust covered bedside cabinets and lamps, again cracks in the walls, wallpaper peeling off and damp with what appeared to be possible mould growth under or similar. To top it all there was a 'hair' in the bed!
Breakfast was the worst ever had, although possibly the highlight so that is saying something. Tea was grey, food substandard and cheap quality, one waitress rushed off her feet (although very nice), had to wait for juice, then no glasses, then no spoons. Oh and every table has a toaster on so you have to guess when the cooked breakfast will arrive and do the toast yourself. Three other guests were complaining whilst we were paying the bill. It is such a shame as lovely location and with a bit of care could be a lovely place. However with continued passing trade being so close to the ferries etc. perhaps they don't care if people come back again.

Hythe and surrounding area lovely though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Beds Lumpy and squeaky, bath filthy and water came out at a dribble (only 2 rooms had baths) sink cracked, toilet stained, I/2 a bottle of shower gel which had been used before, shower was mouldy and came out at a dribble, everything old and dated and plugged into extension leads which were dangerous with children around, whole place was subsiding going by cracks in walls, and having to hold onto toilet to stop sliding off seat, garden pretty, but unable to sit on benches as they were either broken or covered in seagull mess because they lived on the roof, breakfast ok, when they hadn't run out of things, one waitress lovely lady but run off her feet, one cleaner who diddn't speak much english. Owners were a friendly indian family, daughter ran the hotel and cooked breakfast but where she got to after that was a mystery, father would come in barefoot for breakfast after most of the guests had eaten, say good morning and the next time you saw him and his wife they would say hello as they dissapeared out for the day.. On the up side we had a good laugh at breakfast swapping stories, faulty towers had nothing compared to this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had a family event over Christmas 2009, we needed some accommodation at very short notice, so i booked this, my god i wish that i hadnt. Next time i will get the tent out of the garage and attempt putting up a tent on a field somewhere. The guest house was friendly enough and very welcoming afterall we were only staying there for the night with breakfast thrown in, and it is very hard to find a b&b at short notice that will have a family room for 5. The beds, were hard and creaked, we had our worst sleep that we have had in a long time, this year we have stayed in some fab hotels but this, oh dear, if you stay in room 8 watch out the mattress on the double bed is the pits. We all fell asleep and eventually it was time to get up, we thought we would have a shower, there is better pressure from the rain falling out of the sky, finally breakfast, it wasnt that great, but out of everything it was the best part of the experience, which i can assure you we wont be repeating in the future!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

This B&B is a rip-off!! We booked two rooms. Both shower floors were filthy, one even having hair in it, my husband had to fix the shower head in one of the rooms as there was only a dribble coming through, the heating didn't work in either room and we were really cold as there were no duvets.The carpet around one of the toilets was soaking wet and we don't even want to think about where the moisture was coming from!!! I tried unsuccessfully to discuss the problems with the 'receptionist' who even came to the room and saw our complaints first hand. After traveling in the UK for almost 12 months and staying in many wonderful B&B's this is the first time we have left negative comments so that should speak volumes!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook House

Address: 81 Seabrook Road, Hythe CT21 5QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seabrook House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seabrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabrook House Hythe, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.