We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nutmeg Cafe

The Nutmeg Cafe
115 High Street, Hythe CT21 5JH, England
01303 238919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 64 Restaurants in Hythe
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went in here for a gossipy lunch with my friend. Tables crammed in, and not the place for a private chat. We were greeted immediately on our arrival, and the service was good throughout. The menu is what seems to have become the standard, sandwiches, ciabatta, and jacket potatoes, they do breakfasts but I was too late to get a look a them, so I won't comment. Most dishes are priced between 4-7 quid. I had mushrooms, parmesan shavings, and rocket on toast, which was ok, but a bit dry. The coffee was good though. I would prefer a bit more space when meeting a friend for lunch, but for a quick coffee I would go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place, food & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love this place. Wonderful food, great menu, coffee is fantastic and if you love hot chocolate, it is definitely my favourite! Love the atmosphere, and staff are always so friendly!

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab food, super staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have eaten here previously, and, as we hadn't been for a while decided to have a late breakfast.
My wife had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon, and I had the scrambled egg with chorizo. I'm quite fussy, and requested that my toast was served on the side (not under the egg), & that my egg was soft (not, as is often the case, like rubber). Happily, the food arrived exactly as requested, & really was quite delicious. Here, I must give special mention to the chorizo - absolutely delicious.
With this we ordered a pot of tea & a black Americano with hot milk on the side - & again the coffee was lovely (strong & smooth without being bitter).
We persuaded ourselves that this was brunch, so followed with a superb carrot cake & a delicious cup cake - both really fresh.
Service was very efficient without being rushed, despite the fact that there were a number of people waiting for tables. The staff, whilst being young (& in certain cases young at heart!), we 're very friendly & nothing seemed too much trouble.
We will not be leaving it quite so long before returning to this little gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We treated ourselves to breakfast here last saturday & were not disappointed. Delicious food, quickly served in a warm, friendly & comfortable place.
Yes a bit more expensive than some cafes but you get what you pay for & that's good decent food.
We went back in week & sampled the cakes!!! Again delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor bacon sandwich!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited this place back in October 2012 and was impressed, so much so, we decided to pop back during our day visit to hythe in January. My partner and I both decided to have a coffee and bacon sandwich. First of all our coffee came out about 10 minutes before the sandwich which I personally like to have my coffee whilst eating my sandwich. The main problem though was the bacon sandwich itself. It was £3.95 for each sandwich which isn't cheap but we gave it go. It was fresh doorstep bread which was lovely, however we had 1 slice of bacon per slice of doorstep bread, so more bread than bacon so very disappointing for nearly £4 each. We will go back when next in the area as atmosphere is good and coffee is nice but wont be ordering bacon sandwiches again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nutmeg Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Nutmeg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nutmeg Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.