We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Poisson

Le Petit Poisson
Pier Approach, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
+44 (0)1227 361199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 97 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An excellent find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We only planned to go for a walk along the seafront but saw this seafood restaurant. We wanted to have lunch out anyway so we decided to give this place a try.

We all enjoyed our food and the atmosphere there too . It wasn't very busy as we were having late lunch and the sun shone through the glass frontage. The fish soup and mussels were delicious. They were very generous with their portions and the mussels were one of the best I have tasted, large and soft, not chewey.

The prices were good value, especially if you order from the Specials board. My family live in Bournemouth but we would like to come back and try other dishes when we visit our parents in Kent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    92
    23
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester,UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We only planned to go for a walk along the seafornt to burn off the Christmas excesses but saw this place and decided to have lunch there ( have been there several times a few years ago before it was extended - it was good then).
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the chef was a joy to talk to - so passionate about his food and sourcing as much as possible locally.
The set menu is excellent value for money, although we went a la carte which again wasn't expensive for the quality of food on the plate.
If you visit Herne Bay this is a must - we will definately be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take it or leave it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Well presented tasty food let down by lack of interest and grumpy manager. Question: can you tell me what the fish of the day is? Answer its Cod, goes to walk away. Excuse me how is the Cod cooked? Hmmm not sure o it's cooked liked the other cod offering which is in the board. Walks away. Same lack of interpersonal skills when ordering coffee. Could not work out if he was being dam right rude! Obtuse or is just plain thick.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“1st Visit But not the Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I dined at this resturant for a specials night last Friday, the resturant was full to capacity but the staff managed to keep every table replenished with the 6 courses and different wine to accomplish every course and every body looked happy.
The food was amazing and I will definitely return, well done to l the staff on a great evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, beautifully flavoured , excellent value .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Tucked away in Herne Bay, this restaurant is a petit gem - a small and delicious fish menu . (Note Even our non - fish eater enjoyed his steak last night ).
The soup , stuffed sole and sea bass were real hits, with thoughtful and interesting sauces . Good Creme Brûlée and Apple Crumble too .
Definitely one to visit again and easily up there with nearby Whitstable restaurants .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Poisson also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Poisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Poisson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.