We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Poisson

Le Petit Poisson
Pier Approach, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
+44 1227 361199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Herne Bay seafront overlooking the harbour next to the pier, we specialise in seafood. All our dishes are cooked to order using fersh locally sourced seasonal ingredients and our black board menu evolves with the seasons, (it's available to view on our web site). Fully licensed; with a good selection of international and local, wines and beers. Our talented and friendly chefs are happy to cater for special dietary requirements given sufficient notice. PLEASE NOTE: We don't do fast food, "Fish & Chips", "Scampi in a Basket" etc!!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The seafood in this restaurant is exceptional. Really fresh and imaginatively prepared and served. We had plaice goujons with homemade tartare, scallops and black pudding and a seafood chowder to start, followed by mussels, poached haddock and cod in a light mushroom sauce. All of them were delicious with subtle use of herbs and flavouring. We could have had a steak and there are veggie options. Desserts were superb too. White chocolate brownie with a white chocolate mousse was standout. Very friendly staff and a stunning view over the sea and pier, finished off with an amazing suset. This is Kent at its very best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    103
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

five of us went for sunday lunch 4/11/12 ,once more can only say wonderful as always.every dish
prefect and good service throughly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Seafood and eat it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had another trip to Petit Poisson in Herne Bay. Food excellant , but service not as good as before! Steak was a bit on the cold side and the desert menu was very limited, in fact a bit dissapointing. We ahd to pay a £10 deposit as the table was booked for 8 and they presented the bill ommitting the £80 paid! Very bad on their part, though they did apologise.Just lost a bit of the edge to what it was like before! Selection really wasn't everyones taste but we all had a good meal, anyway! Can't please everybody! LOL The service really wasnt as good and the staff not so accomodating as before! We had to hang our own coats up as nobody offered to take them! Solke was great, as was all the main courses, but food could have been hotter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still good quality food, but fewer options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our dining group of eight were keen to revisit the venue of a successful meal a few months back, but we fear the economic pressure may be affecting the choices offered. Once again, the restaurant was fully booked on this Saturday evening. We all enjoyed the starters and mains, all fish based except for the one steak alternative, all good. This is the best fish restaurant in the town, with good attention to detail in the meals and friendly, enthusiastic staff. Sadly, the size of the dishes has shrunk and the choices seem more limited, we all decided not to try a desert dish as none inspired and they seemed expensive at about £6 - £7 each. The range of drinks, both beer and wine were adequate and the coffee was very good. Overall, the price is fair and the quality is very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and excellent food, a gem of Herne Bay. Right on the front so you can enjoy our fabulous sunsets. My only criticism is that we weren't impressed by the white wines we had or by the fact no-one on that night knew anything about their wine list. It let it down a little. Nevertheless, we'll go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Poisson also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Poisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Poisson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.