We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
The Bandstand, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JJ, England
01227 368888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 106 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a treat. This was our first visit. The smell of the food as it arrived promised an excellent meal and it was.

The adults in our group have a good knowledge of Indian cuisine and would not give such praise easily!

It took an appropriate amount of time for an excellent meal to be served and our order was 100% accurate even though we had asked for some variation to the given menu.

My daughter, who does not usually like Indian food, loved it and wants to go back again with us. The waiters were attentive, friendly and very professional. They treated us superbly and were very kind to our daughter.

The restaurant is very clean and the toilets were immaculate. They have gained awards and truly deserve them. They were even happy to let our daughter use the toilet a lot later that evening when they were closing.

A sincere 'thank you' to all your staff for such a wonderful meal and welcome. We will be back and will highly recommend you to everyone we know!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    32
    14
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Indian food at the Herne Bay Bandstand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent food. Fantastic service. Modern Indian food focusing on quality and taste rather than volume. Not your standard Indian food in Herne Bay; far better than standard!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant would def recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My brother and his girlfriend travelled to Herne Bay for a family weekend get together from the Midlands so I decided to try out this fairly new Indian restaurant out on his first night. The ambiance was lovely when we first arrived and we were seated at a very comfy table. Service was quick, the drinks were lovely! the meal came in reasonable time…not too quick and not too slow! the food was delicious, one of the best Indians we have ever had, The presentations of the food was first class we were all pleasantly surprised. Would we come back..with more guest visiting Herne Bay…..? DEFINATLY!!! we had a lovely evening….one of the best curries in Herne Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delivers less than the setting and decor promise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The decor and Pavilion location are a couple of notches above the average Bangladeshi/Indian restaurant. The staff were considerate when speaking with us but although we were the only table in the restaurant it took longer ethan necessary to serve us.
It was on Saturday around 5 pm which is very early but we had checked and were told they were open all day.

The food was generally good except for an underdone chicken tikka kebab. I don't think pink chicken is safe to eat so I left those portions. Non of the dishes were served on warming trays and the food presentation was rather basic.
Overall it was ok but could learn a lot from our local indian restaurant which shows what excellent service, great food and attention to detail can achieve: Formerly Simply Spice in Strood, Kent - now Naz's Rasoi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst curry we can remember anywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Poppadoms, ,grilled prawns and crabcake were a good start. Then two veg dishes and a chicken dish in various sauces arrived . No sign of spices or even salt in any - just SUGAR. Even the nans were sweet. After taste was actually more like artificial sweetener which is even worse. Waiter said he would ask chef if he could have made a mistake but then vanished . There were a lot of customers so it can't always be that bad. Suspect sweetener was used instead of salt in sauces and they just forgot the other spices and the chilli. But what a way to deal with a very politely made complaint! We just paid our 50 quid and left. Won't go back. The one star is for the good shellfish -no sauce -and the polite junior staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.