We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good so went again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster and Chop House

Oyster and Chop House
8 High Street, Herne Bay CT6 5LH, England
+44 1227 749933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Herne Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Organic, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We pride ourselves on our organic and seasonal menu, locally sourced from within an 18 mile radius. Our free range meat and poultry are supplied by Chandler and Dunn and our organic fruit and vegetables are produced by Perry Court Farm. All Fish is fresh from local day boats, ensuring sustainability and seasonality of the catch. West Whelks provide our beautiful oysters and shellfish direct from their local purification farm. We offer an extensive wine list and a fine selection of alcoholic drinks, including Ales from Goody Ales, brewed locally, in Herne.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So good so went again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had read to newspaper review but having read this particular reporters reviews before, you soon know food is not his forte so writing about it isn't either .
On both visits my food has been quite lovely Wood Pigeon starter , a main course of Pheasant cooked to perfection , I have not had such succulent pheasant in a long time, in fact I have been to Michelin Star Restaurants locally who cannot do it as well as Jeff the chef.....my friends with me one of which is a vegetarian raved about how good their meals were, so please support this hard working, friendly, Jeff the chef in his enterprise to bring organic food to the Bay, I will be going again very soon

Kevin

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had our first meal at the Oyster and Chop House in Herne Bay. It was fabulous. The food was outstanding, the front of house staff were efficient and friendly and the chef was exceptionally helpful. We will definitely be back. Thank you all very much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superbly cooked locally sourced organic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have read half a dozen reviews saying how good this restaurant is and agree with their comments so will not repeat them. I looked round the kitchen and the owner explained his approach to developing his recipes using the sous vide method (also used by Heston Blumenthal and others- see wiki). Without getting technical he produces food that retains its flavour because of the precise temperatures applied whilst also completely satisfying hygiene standards. Every thing plated has been produced expertly from scratch. I could not afford to eat like this in London! Try it now whilst it is still easy to get booked in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The east of Kent, and its sea, has an abundance of top quality produce and this restaurant cooks and serves it to perfection. The menu changes daily according to what's available locally. And the chef is clearly very fussy and very talented.
Today Pheasant and Wood Pigeon, tomorrow they are expecting Mallard and just 3 Widgeon, so by Friday the menu will be different again.
Superb. No hesitation in saying that.
My photos show the menus on our visit. We had the Midweek Special at £19.50 for any two courses on the board except fillet steak plus an amuse-bouche to start and lemon sorbet between courses and a small glass of house wine.
Criticisms? They need a web presence so people know they're there and roughly what to expect.
Why only 4* for atmosphere? Empty. But once they're 'discovered' you'll have to book weeks ahead. It's only a matter of time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant using local produce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I implore all to ignore a recent newspaper article written by an individual who has no clue!

This is the second time I have used the restaurant in as many months.

Good front of house. Friendly and willing to help. The head Chef Jeff also comes out to talk to guests after their courses which is a nice personal touch.

The menu offers the best of the local produce. I must say the complimentary freshly baked bread and Amuse Bouche (single bite sized appertiser) adds to the fine dining experience. The food was cooked to perfection.

I will be going again and look forward to the new creations on offer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster and Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Oyster and Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster and Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.