We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Star & Eagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Star & Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
Star & Eagle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Goudhurst TN17 1AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
The Cotswolds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Star and Eagle is an historic building at the end of a busy village high street. The communal parts of the hotel are dark and full of character, but the room we stayed in (the half-tester) was dull, dusty and the bathroom overdue for refurbishment. Also, there were none of the little touches that you'd expect at these prices - particularly tea & coffee facilities. Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast poor, very little choice. Dinner and lunch very average, very overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
I must confess I have always been wounded since July last year about your review of my pride & joy - The Half Tester! I decided today to put it to bed and write to you about it. I know there are some places you either love or hate and I do know that some people hate old buildings such as this with the tiny corridors and some rooms a little tricky to get to such as the Half Tester ( people were smaller years ago) you need a bit of a sense of adventure and humour. Also old places like this can be dust buckets especially if it has been very windy, it seems to drop from the beams. We do polish each day believe it or not, so, sorry if something was overlooked the day you stayed.

Since we are definitely not a Boutique hotel ( very nice some of them are too, stayed in a few) we have tried to keep the rooms very traditional in furnishings & style ( not every one's cup of tea ). Since it is one of our very special rooms like the Four Poster I spent a long time considering different fabrics and furnishings for this room. At great expense I opted for some fabric from the Italian Voyage collection and had the curtains, chair covers, cushion covers and bedspread made by hand. I sourced the Antique (not junk shop!) dressing table, wardrobe and bedside tables and was and still am very proud of my creation. Surprise, Surprise, some people do actually ask for that room and I love it to bit's.

I am very keen on being competitive and keep a firm eye on prices for accommodation & food of the same standard that we are offering. I would say our prices are very middle of the road. So more expensive than some places but also cheaper than a lot. We employ quite a few people here including 3 chef's that produce fresh restaurant food at the higher end pub prices and it works for us. We do also provide good old fashioned room service if required.

I do know that after all these years serving the public that you can only try to please everybody, it doesn't always work. I'm just sorry that you were disappointed and went away unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
47
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

If you want an enchanting English experience, this hotel/pub is the place. Located next to a late Medieval church, this 15th century hotel has more atmosphere and ambiance than most "historic" inns. The basic room was most comfortable and the lack of tea and cookies in your room is understandable in a building as old as this (hello - fires.) The restaurant downstairs is outstanding and the prices on both are most reasonable. My husband and I will be returning, especially since it is so close to London and the village is very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
So glad you love our place as much as we do. A lot of effort & money goes into the pot to keep this old place ticking over and in good repair. We consider ourselves very fortunate caretakers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Nice hotel, but definitely not 4 star!
The room was okay (the Half Tester room), but I've never been to a 4 star that doesn't have tea & coffee facilities in the room! I had to go to the bar and buy a coffee. The water also took about 3 minutes before it came through hot.
We snuck a look at The Four Poster bedroom and it was much more impressive, but still didn't see any tea or coffee.
Over priced at £100. And very over priced if you have to pay £130!
The only plus was the restaurant.
We stayed on 24/5/9 and won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, owner/manager at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2009
I was interested to read your review of my hotel. The AA, Tourist board, RAC, who grade hotels, Inns & bed & breakfasts have changed the rating system in the last couple of years and it is now a bit misleading for the average guest. Hotels were once classified by stars and Inns/ bed & breakfast by crowns. Now both are classified by stars eg 4 Star Hotel = The Hilton Hotel London @ £250 plus per night not including breakfast and a 4 Star Inn = small country pub /restaurant with good food & accommodation @ £85/£130 a night inc breakfast. Standard & facility requirement very different. Most bed & breakfast accommodations who do not have facilities eg staying in someones house who has letting accommodation will have kettles in the room so that guests can make a drink without bothering the owners who quite often run the business themselves. In some small hotels such as mine that does have all the facilities ie bar, restaurant, fully staffed we like to go one more and provide a personal room service. Beverages are available from 7 am to 11.30 pm every day and we will even deliver to your room for you at no extra charge. We also provide morning tea & newspaper delivery service as advertised in our room folders. I'm sorry that your expectation of a four star hotel was not met at our four star Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed for one night and found the hotel to be better than expected after some of the earlier reviews. The room was clean and comfortable. We had the 4-poster room which overlooks the front of the hotel and a busy road through the village - rooms at the rear of the hotel have views over the countryside. Staff were friendly and the restaurant food was excellent. The hotel bar is how you imagine an olde-world inn, with plenty of character. We would certainly return to the Star and Eagle without hesitation.

  • Liked — The old-word charm and character of the hotel.
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee making facilities in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We have been prompted to write this review after reading some of the previous ones, some of which are distinctly negative. We have stayed at the hotel several times over the past ten years and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves every time. In fact, it is very hard to believe that some of the other reviewers are actually talking about the same place!

Last September we were fortunate enough to have ourt wedding at the hotel. This included the ceremony, wedding meal and then bed and breakfast for ourselves and all of our guests. There were 21 of us in total, ranging from teenagers to one guest in her 80's. All of them commented on the beauty and charm of the hotel. We will be eternally grateful to the owners and their staff for helping to make it a perfect and memorable day - we absolutely loved every minute of it. Everything was wonderful! Also, excellent value for money.

For us, things like the lack of tea and coffee facilities and slightly out of date bathrooms pale into insignificance when you look at the location and that charming old building. In addition, we have found the food to be consistently good and the service absolutely fine. The hotel's idiosynracies are part of its charm and we will certainly be coming back for more!

  • Liked — location and beautiful building
  • Disliked — out of date bathrooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you. I know you are very protective of us! We always look forward to seeing you and thank you for all your custom over the years. It really was a super wedding wasn't it, we enjoyed doing it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

We recently had the good fortune to have our wedding at the star and Eagle and booked out all the rooms for friends and family. This gave us a chance to really explore the entire place and we could not get over how fantastic and olde worlde this hotel was. Yes you have to duck to get down to the rooms at the back, but that is a part of this place's charms. Each room hired by us was different in shape, style and decor, and was a delight to everyone that stayed there. The rooms were clean and well made up and suited the ambience of the building perfectly.

We stayed for two nights, and enjoyed the full breakfast each day, as well as having dinner (including the wedding meal) there twice. Out of our group of ten + plus wedding guests there was not one person who did not enjoy their meal.

The owners and staff of this hotel were attentive and helpful during the entire stay and could not be faulted, one of our guests was in a wheel chair and while he did not stay over night, all was done to ensure that he could get around the bumps and tight corners while on site.

Finally being in the location that this hotel is, (half the rooms have outstanding views of the Kent countryside), in the heart of the Kent weld, you could not ask for a better place to spend a weekend....

  • Liked — The different style rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
It was a pleasure to organise your wedding day. Although a lot of communication was done via e mail, very long distance, between us we managed to get it spot on, didn't we? It is always great to see you when you are over visiting your relatives, you are a lovely couple. We wish you lots of happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

Our eight day stay during July and August 2005 was arranged to attend our Nephews wedding at All Saint's in Staplehurst. The Star & Eagle was recommended by our Nephew and his intended. Our arrival was warmly and efficiently handled and assisted to our room #10 through an amazing series of corridors reflecting the 400 years of required reconstructions. We were aware that the Inn was located on the only highway through Goudhurst so the view from our window was not a surprise. A part of our entertainment was watching the lorries trying to navigate the 90 degree turn just in front of the Inn although they were warned to take an alternate route because of that turn. Our travels throughout England, Scotland and Wales over the last 40 years has given us experiences most travellers would shun. I was surprised to read the complaints outlined in some of the other reviews. They were very reminiscent of a 'Faulty Towers' episode in which an American and his wife expected treatment only provided by The Dorchester in the West End, not a 400 year old Inn in a Kent village. I was also surprised that the complaints were all from UK locals. We had many meals at the hotel and entertained several guests during our stay and were all completely satisfied with the food and service. A pre-wedding dinner for about 30 people was handled efficiently and the food was exceptional. Prior to writing critical reviews of a facility, people should recognize the facility for what it is, not for what they would like it to be. The Star & Eagle is a significant part of English history and should be viewed in that light.

  • Liked — History & Owners/Staff
  • Disliked — Everything was what we expected. Nothing bad.
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyGoudhurstKent, Owner at Star & Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
My staff and ourselves had a fabulous time with you and your wife during your stay in England. Thank you so much for the beautiful drawings your wife sent of the hotel when you returned to America. She is a fine artist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star & Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Eagle Hotel

Address: High Street, Goudhurst TN17 1AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Goudhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star & Eagle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Star & Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star And Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel Goudhurst, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star & Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.