We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really delicious New Years Day lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goudhurst Inn

The Goudhurst Inn
Cranbrook Road | TN17 1DX, Goudhurst TN17 1DX, England
+44 1580 212605
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Goudhurst Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Goudhurst
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award winning village pub in Goudhurst with lots of parking and amazing views. From a classic burger or fish and chips the way they should be to something more adventurous come and join us for some good food and wine or beer. With fires inside and out and rooms that can be booked for groups of 10 or 40 we have the different spaces to suit whether a lunch with friends, catching up with family, a business get together or a larger party or celebration. We are child, mobility and dog friendly as a good village meeting place should be. We hope to see you soon.
Kent
1 review
“Really delicious New Years Day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a long impromptu walk in the beautiful Bedgebury forest we headed to the Goudhurst Inn Despite being packed to the rafters the lovely manager squeezed us in and I had the most delicious roast beef and ginger pudding with cinnamon ice cream - Definately the best food I have had in this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    28
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I had dinner at the Goudhurst Inn on New Years Eve, after I had previously enjoyed lunch there. The menu was pre-chosen, and on arrival parking was a bit tricky, to be expected really on this busy evening. On entering, the bar area was absolutely packed, but we were shown to our table in the dining room, where it was quieter. We had to wait a while before being offered a drink, but once this arrived, so did the food, all three courses, one very much after the other! Now, I can eat fast and it's good not to have to hang around too much between courses but this was super speedy, too much so! The food was good though, and I left the dessert to one side while I waited for the main course to go down before starting on the creme brulee, prompting questions from the friendly staff as to why I wasn't eating it! We did not get to see the band, which was a shame but they were playing in the bar, which was still crowded, so we left, happy, if a little rushed. We will visit again, as in all, this is a friendly, efficient pub with good food at a reasonable price. Happy New Year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came here for Sunday lunch and were not disappointed. The location is beautiful, there is a terrace with stunning views over the countryside behind the pub. We visited on a dreary day in winter so could not sit outside but this would be a lovely place to visit on a warm summer evening.

Inside was cosy and warm and the Sunday lunch menu was ideal. Not too much to choose from but enough to suit most tastes.

The food was beautifully presented and, more importantly, was well cooked and tasted good. The portions were generous and all accompanied by a good range of vegetables.

Not the cheapest of Sunday lunches around but you do get what you pay for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service lets it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been to the Goudhurst Inn on two occasions, once for a birthday dinner and the second time for lunch. On both occasions the food was very good but the service was appalling. 30 minutes after having finished our lunch we even had to walk up to the bar to ask for our table to be cleared.

I will not be returning in the near future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just an 'off night'?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Friends who had just moved to Goudhurst village suggested we meet up at the Inn for dinner; a jazz trio was playing there that night. First surprise was that it was really a 'restaurant' rather than country in. The second surprise was the large menu - too large - and the prices, also too large, as was the amount of time we had to wait for our main course, though they were good enough to offer us a free drink while we waited.
The jazz event should have been better organised, i.e. dinner, then jazz. Sadly, the poor female singer and musicians battled manfully against loud restaurant noise and conversations so the music got louder as everyone tried to compete.
The food - was generally rather disappointing and the service friendly but not good. Would we return? Perhaps, though for us, it is probably too expensive to speculate on whether or not it might be better next time. A shame.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goudhurst Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Goudhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goudhurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.