We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George V

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George V
Save
You added King George V to your Saves list
1 Prospect Row | Brompton, Gillingham ME7 5AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Gillingham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A perfect wedding night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having been to the KGV for Sunday lunch and beer festivals on several ocassions it seemed the perfect way to end our wedding day staying here.

It is a small but cosy pub with a strong feeling of community.

The residential rooms are up a steep staircase in the bar and enjoy a separate lounge where we were able to relax after a busy day. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had room 1 which boasts a very comfortable four poster bed.

Breakfast is served in the bar area and consists of full english with toast.

If around at the weekend do book for the Sunday roast. It is easily the best in the area and the quality and variety of vegetables served is a real treat.

The pub always has a good selction of beers and ciders including well over a dozen Belgian beers, most which are served in the correct glass.

Although the pub is within walking distance of home we are tempted to stay again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I wanted a simple, cheerful B&B near the Dockyard, and that's what I got. Nice welcome, large comfortable room, a drawing/dining room that I was welcome to use, and a good breakfast.

I wish I'd had time for a couple of pints in the pub - busy on a Monday night because the landlord/lady obviously put a lot of work in to make sure they're part of the community.

The reviewer that gave 1/5 with his "Worst B&B in Kent" opinion seems utterly unfair. This wasn't my experience at all, and I can't imagine what inspired him to such vitriol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIDLINGTON
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The landlord and landlady have no real interested in real customer service the room was not cleaned properly, the bedding was dirty and obviously had not been changed since the last occupant.
The Breakfast was very poor cheap booker concentrated orange juice,no sausages ( I had to buy my own!) toast was not toasted at all!
I did have a pack lunch one day and when I asked for an apple this was refused!
The beer was consistently off and the evening meal was a microwaved thing very inedible!
Please steer clear of this B & B FROM HELL!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The King George V is a great little pub and the accommodation is superb. We booked a room after seeing the pub's website and it just doesn't do the place justice. You never know what you are going to get when you stay at an independently run hotel/B&B/pub, but this was superb. Quirky place with loads of characters. Rooms very clean and furnished to a high standard - we had a four poster bed, which was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

There's a little communial area before the stairs to the bedrooms, which again is well equipped with a TV, books, games etc. This was a real surprise and was great for us as we had friends also staying in another room so we could have a chat and a few drinks together before going out and again when we got in!

Breakfast the next day was a full English and they even had vegetarian sausages! Lovely, lovely people. Highly recommend this pub. Will stay again definitely.

Room Tip: Go for the four poster bed - it's well worth the £5 extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The King George V is a B&B with a lot going for it. The pub is great with a great choice of beers and the breakfasts are excellent, The location is quiet and has a pleasant park opposite and there are no problems parking. The rooms are full of character and furnished to a high standard.

Room Tip: Because of the age of the pub, the stairs to the bedrooms are steep and narrow and may prove difficu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The KGV is a traditional pub in a 17th century building. The rooms are clean and functional, if somewhat somewhat low (~ 6') on the second (third for North Americans) floor. The ale and food in the pub are excellent, especially the breakfast. The shower room on the middle floor is wonderfully large and extremely well appointed. There is en-suite accommodation for several of the rooms, just not the one in which I stayed

A warning: As well as the low ceilings on the top floor, the stairs are extremely steep - not for those with even a mild mobility impairment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George V

Address: 1 Prospect Row | Brompton, Gillingham ME7 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gillingham
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
King George V Gillingham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.