We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess with the mostest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstone House

Gladstone House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faversham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gladstone House
Save
You added Gladstone House to your Saves list
60 Newton Road, Faversham ME13 8DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hostess with the mostest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We needed last minute accommodation over the Christmas period. Originally Mary was not going to open but when she heard I was heavily pregnant and travelling from Leeds on a donkey,she opened her doors to us!
Seriously though,Mary made us welcome and comfortable,despite rushing around busy with her family Christmas festivities.
Our room was spacious,clean and comfortable. The house is beautiful,stuffed full with antiques and objects d'art.
Thank- you Mary and we wish you and your family a happy and healthy 2013.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
50
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This B and B is centrally located in Faversham close (but not too close)to the town centre and the Railway Stn. It is clean, quiet and comfortable and excellent value for money. Mary the owner, is charming and friendly and cooks an excellent breakfast, with plenty of choice. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Gladstone House Faversham Kent.
Weatherwise it was a horrid couple of days this Oct weekend, but what a delightful welcome awaited us on entry to a oasis of charm and elegance. Mary had the disposition so right
for this most pleasing weekend.
We'd go back any time----Give Faversham the once, twice or perhaps even frequently
visit.
But stay at Gladstone House to make all the difference.
Sonia & Barry Talman

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Mary keeps a very well appointed house. Her deco is excellent, room was very nice, all very clean. Can't blame her for the rain....would I return, YES! Mary does't display her B&B awards, they are kept discreetly in the dining room. They are also current.

Room Tip: I had a back room, but don't think any of the rooms were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Mary was the most incredible lady who made us feel so comfortable! The breakfast was perfect and so satisfying we really couldn't have asked for more. The room was lovely and cosy with a great en suite with all the mod cons you could need. But the best thing about staying here was Mary who is one of the most welcoming people that me or my boyfriend had ever met as well as being a great laugh! We couldn't reccomend it more!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was guided to take a few days of rest in the town of Faversham. I happened across Gladstone House and I am so very glad I did. Mary, the owner is probably the most welcoming host I have ever experienced in my experience of guest houses. She was so friendly and accomodating, without being overbearing; nothing was too much trouble for her. For all the vegetarians out there, you will be glad to hear that Mary is very supportive of them, and her cooked breakfast was delightful. For the meat eaters, there didn't seem to be any complaints either! The house was beautiful and spotless from top to bottom, and my room was lovely.Mary even supplied toiletries, dressing gown and slippers! It was at the front of the house on a main road but the traffic never kept me awake. Also if you don't drive it matters not, as the train station is literally a minutes walk away. You can be at the coast in ten minutes, and to Canterbury in half an hour. It is perfectly situated. Faversham itself is a small town, but there is plenty of history there and things to see and lots of nice pubs. Check out the Sun Inn - a traditional cosy pub that apparently serves good food (not sampled myself) and good real ales (which I did-not to be grumbled at!) There is a little cafe near the guest house called Jittermugs, which serves gorgeous cakes and light meals. Overall, I would highly reccommend Gladstone House and Faversham as a base. There are many touristy places dotted around outside Faversham which you would need to drive to, but even without wheels, you can still find plenty to do. Thank you Mary, for making my trip so wonderful, I will definately return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just had three nights at Gladstone House and everything said about Mary was so accurate, we had a brilliant time made especially so by the breakfast conversation and Mary's friendliness. Nothing too much trouble and made to feel really welcome and "at home", a great place to stay especially for keen walkers, there are so many walks from Faversham that we did not move our car for the whole stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Address: 60 Newton Road, Faversham ME13 8DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone House is a friendly Irish guesthouse located in the center of Faversham, just minutes away from the shops, railway station and all facilities. It is a comfortable Victorian town house on Newton Road, only 200 yards from Faversham railway station with its frequent trains to London and the Kent coast. It is only minutes from Junction 6 of the M2 motorway by car, with Canterbury 15 minutes away and Ashford, with its International Station, 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Faversham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.