We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique 4 poster room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Becketts Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edenbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becketts Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Becketts Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pylegate Farm, Hartfield Road | Cowden, Edenbridge TN8 7HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special 3 day break
Ranked #2 of 5 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Antique 4 poster room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Room was lovely, the whole building is like something out of 'Grand Designs' and overflowing with character. Breakfast was good, instructions to find the house are great. It is out of town so you will have to drive for dinner.
This IS a B&B so don't expect an impersonal experience here. The owners are very chatty and have lots of information about the area.
Room was well appointed and the room for parking was suffice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Have you thought about visiting this area in the summer when the marvelous gardens nearby are in full bloom? Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
64
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Four poster bed very comfortable, everything was very well appointed and clean. Fantastic cooked breakfast. Would recommend staying here. Very pleasant couple who own the place. Bravo!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Why not stay again to visit all those great places you missed last time? Best wishes Jacqui and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012


We enjoyed our 3 day stay very much.
Our room was comfortable with a fabulous bed, and our only complaint (a
> small one) was that there was only one chair in the room.
> Breakfast was delicious and our chats with Jacqui and her husband were very
> enjoyable. We were also fortunate to share breakfast each day with three
> other guests all very interesting and with whom we shared email addresses.
> Jacqui gave us invaluable help with "local information", i.e. restaurants, sites, etc.
> We would happily stay again.
>
>
>
>

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your review and we are looking at more seating the room for the comfort of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at the Becketts B & B.
Hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and very knowledgeable about the local area.
We stayed in the vaulted kingsize double en-suite. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the shower fantastic! The breakfasts were delicious and served in the main part of the beautiful converted barn.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Becketts to other travellers and hope to visit again when we next visit Kent. It is a perfect base to visit Hever Castle, Chartwell and many other attractions.

Room Tip: The vaulted kingsize double en-suite room has a very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit so you can see all the attractions you missed this time. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We needed a local B&B near Cowden for a 2 night stay whilst catching up with some relatives and old friends in the area. We were recommended 'Becketts' and we found it to be a wonderful place. It is a converted wooded barn with oak beams everywhere with comfortable beds and modern bathroom and a great power shower. We had a small garden area outside the patio doors which we enjoyed in the early morning sunshine. Although we are not 'breakfasters' we thoroughly enjoyed them whilst chatting to the owners, Ken & Jacqui, who are delightful and full of tips about what to see for the other guests unfamiliar to the area..

Room Tip: Pick the Ground Floor to have access to the small garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. I hope your lime marmalade turned out like Becketts home made.
I will have to think of a new recipe for next Spring when you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Becketts around the middle of May in 2012 and had wonderful time. I have decided to write this review after reading the review that gave the place a poor rating. In my opinion this person is probably someone who is very hard to please and would probably find something to complain about even if it was Buckingham Palace.

It was late at night and we were looking for a place for the night when and another inn called the Becketts for us and asked if they had a room which they did. The lady of the house had to get up to let us in and she was very nice considering that we got her out of bed. We stayed in the same room as the person who gave them a poor rating and could not disagree more. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and I enjoyed the old post and beam look.

There was another review which said something about the noise of busy street and airplanes. I neither saw nor heard any of this. It was quiet and we awoke to a lovely breakfast. Both the host and hostess stayed for a long time just chatting with us at breakfast which we love to do when we have the time.

It is true that there is no indoor sitting room at the Becketts but there is an outside area to sit when the weather permits and we would return and stay here again if our travel plans permitted.

I give this place an excellent rating with one reservation on that rating because of the lack of a place all the guest could sit in and enjoy each other company after a day of seeing things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking your time to write this review. We greatly appreciate it when our guests feel that a previous review has been unfair. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We got married in Chartwell and Becketts provided us with the ideal surroundings to spend our wedding night. It provided my wife a great place to get ready for her wedding day along with her bridesmaids and Jacqui was very helpful with making tea and contributing to the ironing of the wedding dress.
My wife had emailed Jacqui beforehand informing her that she has food allergies and Jacqui accommodated her accordingly, its not often that my wife gets catered for so superbly.
I would highly recommend Becketts and will be returning for our 1st year wedding anniversary.
A great start to our married life, thanks Jacqui and Ken.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room downstairs with a well equipped spacious bathroom and views of the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckettsEdenbridge, Owner at Becketts Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are so pleased that everything went well on your special day and we look forward to seeing you on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Becketts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pylegate Farm, Hartfield Road | Cowden, Edenbridge TN8 7HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 300 year old Listed barn set in a glorious area of outstanding natural beauty. Three individual en suite rooms including antique for poster, superking and garden twin. TV, free wifi, complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries. Full English breakfast with vegetarian options, served with homemade jams and marmalades. Only 30 miles south of London (50 minutes by train) and within 4 miles of Hever Castle, Chartwell and Penshurst. Excellent for walking, cycling, exploring or just relaxing. Great pubs and restaurants nearby. Ashdown Forest, the home of Winnie the Pooh and Pooh sticks bridge within 5 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Becketts Bed And Breakfast Edenbridge, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becketts Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.