We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Saxbys Apartment

Outside view of first floor apartment
Outside view of first floor apartment
Outside view of first floor apartment
Modern Living - open plan kitchen/dining/living area
Rest & Relax - cosy & intimate
Comfortable & welcoming
Contemporary style living & dining
Edenbridge
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Love2Trav...
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2014 and would thoroughly recommend the property. It is set amongst some lovely scenery and we were greeted by Louise, the owner, on arrival who provided lots of useful information, including recommendations for local restaurants and tips for walks and attractions, as well as pointing us in the direction of the nearest supermarket! She had also provided a welcome pack of milk, orange juice and wine to get us started. The property is located next door to the owner's home, which means they are available if you need any assistance but will otherwise leave you to enjoy your holiday.

The property itself is very clean and decorated to a high standard. It is very cosy and homely and lovely to come back to after a long day out. The kitchen is well-equipped with a single hob, microwave and slow cooker which doubles as an oven, and we had all we needed to make some nice home-cooked meals during our stay. There is a new, modern bathroom and there is plenty of storage so you can get unpacked and make yourself at home. The wi-fi is very easy to connect to and has excellent signal strength.

As others have mentioned, if the windows are open you can hear the road noise but it does quieten down at night and did not cause us too much of an issue despite the warm weather and the need to have the windows open.

The property is in an excellent location and within a 10 minute drive there are lots of lovely pubs, restaurants and days out – we would recommend The Bottle House Inn on Coldharbour Road for a nice meal (but make sure you book on weekends!) We would also recommend a trip into Tunbridge Wells for some shopping and a day out at Hever Castle. If the weather is good, it's great to take a picnic and enjoy around the lake or while you are watching the jousting competitions they have on over the summer!

Overall, the level of customer service was excellent and our security deposit was returned promptly the morning following our departure.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Victoria...
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real holiday gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived on Friday evening feeling tired and stressed but within an hour of being at Little Saxby's we were feeling relaxed and comfortable. The accommodation itself is immaculate and Louise has decorated it to a very high standard. Every detail has been thought through and the welcome pack of orange juice, milk and wine was a lovely touch. Although the local area has many points of interest we were quite content to just relax and unwind in the apartment as we felt so comfortable there. Louise is a warm and welcoming host without being overbearing, and made it clear she would help in any way if needed. We left feeling refreshed and energised, so job well done!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The contemporary decor
Liked least: Noise of nearby traffic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cashalot
Warsash
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Little Saxons while my wife was having treatment at the Eye Centre in East Grinstead. The owner could not have been more friendly and the appartment was ideal for just the two of us. We have friend living just a few miles away so we know the local area. There is an excellent pub about five minutes drive away, The Fountain Inn which offers good food at very reasonable prices.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JT-PC-201...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful, spacious and comfortable apartment with rural views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We've just had a delightful 3-day stay in Little Saxbys, exploring gardens nearby. The apartment is superb - spacious, light and bright, very clean and in excellent condition. After a day's sightseeing, you feel you are returning to a comfortable, safe and secure oasis. Louise is a very friendly and helpful host, and the welcome pack of milk, wine and juice was most thoughtful. Everything you could need while travelling has been anticipated and provided. It's hard to describe, but it was just a place in which you immediately felt relaxed and "at home". There are lovely, green, rural views from all the windows and a supermarket (Waitrose) nearby in Edenbridge for self-catering supplies. There are stairs to the apartment, but they are not difficult, and the bonus of elevated views is worth it! If you like garden visiting, it's close to Hever Castle, Penshurst Place, Sissinghurst and Great Dixter. All-in-all, Little Saxbys is very highly recommended, and we would happily stay here again while visiting the area.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The high quality accommodation, rural views and welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Doessound
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Homely Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights great place to stay comfortable with a lovely country feel. Great local pub just down the road shops not very far away and close to London if you fancy some day trips in. This time of year is a great time to visit as you can see all the Blue Bells out in the forests close by.
A great place to stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CaptainRe...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A high standard of accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It was hard to fault the standard of accommodation and cleanliness. Most traveller needs were catered for though we must remember to take our soap and shampoo next time. Lying in bed the road noise was a little unsettling but with great walks accessible from the apartment, Edenbridge a few minute's drive, and places like Chartwell and Royal Tunbridge Wells a short drive away, we didn't spend much time inside. Oh, and the Rolls you see in the picture is not the only classic car in the collection you'll find there !!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jacquelin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great apartment well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Louise made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived with a welcome pack that was
most appreciated.
The apartment was well located for us to visit Tunbridge Wells and Brighton. The apartment had everything we required and was very comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$117
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Louise F
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2012
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing