We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
118 High Street, Dymchurch TN29 0NA, England
01303 872 122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Dymchurch
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Try the steak and Kidney pudding. Its amazing. We went back on two consecutive nights and the food does not disappoint.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly but a little pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here while staying at Romney Sands Holiday park, we had had a nice day out in Folkestone and Dymchurch and decided to eat here before returning to the caravan site (or dirty dump as we called it).

The reception was welcoming and they welcome families, we ate in the area behind the bar so that the children didn't disturb other diners. A varied menu if a little overpriced for what you get.

Food was ok, service could have been a bit quicker and we were a little surprised to find our starter arrived at the same time as our main meals, not so good.

I think they really rely on tourists and probably exploit holiday trade but all in all it was a nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome awaits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Elaine and her excellent staff are waiting for you to visit, for a drink, for a meal and, if you feel like it, a bed for the night and a hearty breakfast. Whatever your preference, a snack or a full-blown meal, a drink and a chat or a game of pool, this is the place to come

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay overnight just stopped on for dinner.
Food was superb - home cooked to perfection: nice crisp (but not raw) veg, good sized portions and the steak & ale pie was delicious. Even the sometimes fussy children cleared their plates in spite of the generous size!
Friendly landlord & well kept real ale along with pool table to keep near teen children amused made for a lovely evening!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great pub grub... mostly homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Ship has a fairly typical pub menu, but most of the dishes are home cooked many using local ingredients. Great home made pies and a splendid carvery are recommended. The pub has a nice atmosphere with friendly staff, a nice conservatory and outside seating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Dymchurch, Kent
Dymchurch, Kent
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.