We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed for a couple of nights at the Royal Hotel Deal in one of their sea view rooms, Nelson!

The location of the hotel is great and the room was lovely, plenty of room with an amazing terrace overlooking the sea! The bathroom was quite small but o.k with a walk in shower etc but we also had a freestanding bath in the bedroom... It would have been lovely to have had breakfast on the balcony however the weather wasn't good enough.

Breakfast on the first day was o.k but on the second when the hotel was full, the staff struggled, we needed to ask for the the buffet to be replenished and service was a lot slower , they probably need more than 2 waitresses when the hotel is full to make sure things run smoothly!

The bar downstairs was very busy and noisy on the Friday night, but quieter and more cosy on Saturday.

All in all a lovely weekend break and I'm sure we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    84
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
40
130
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IdF Ouest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice and cool. Modern/refurbished rooms. Perfect location. Good british food. Very kind staff.
Best place to be in the region !
We stay there every month, no regret at all. The room overlooking the Channel is very nice, as well as the wooden balcony. We will come back ! Hope we can have a beer outside with warmer temperature in June.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The position of the Royal in Deal and also for playing the golf course was ideal. The hotel rooms were v good and well priced for the location. We were well looked after with one of the roooms being unavailable on the first night and then spending one night in an altenate room. Not too much trouble and the staff wee v good. My only issue was that breakfast was slow and the staf did forget things which was a problem as we had tee times to meet. Overall though we enjoyed our 3 nights and were well looked after.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the side did not attract a premium cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our room had a lovely sea view and was extremely comfortable. Brilliant, happy staff made the whole stay relaxing and fun. Breakfast was especially good, both for choice and service. We have returned since for a meal and drinks because the Royal has such a good atmosphere. Parking in the adjacent public car park turned out to be fine, staff explained the rules and overnight parking is actually free. Slight problem with their web site when booking, very odd siting of shaver point in bathroom, otherwise only praise.

Room Tip: Sea view, away from the street probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from The Royal Hotel, Deal after 4 days.Welcoming staff who were friendly and helpful.Check in was easy and quick.Parking was strait forward,just outside the hotel.£1 per hour up to 6 p.m.Breakfasts were very good,plenty of choice served in a nice relaxed manor.Food generally was good throughout with nice burgers athough the fish and chips for my party was a bit of a disappointment.
I had a Sea View which was great.My room was very large and comfortable,with T.V and Tea and Coffee making facilities.Reasonable shower too.Good location close to city centre.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms can get a bit warm during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff and Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Royal on a business trip to Kent last week. I called the hotel to book the room and spoke with Lena - to ascertain how accessible the accommodation was since my partner has a disability. She was brilliant and told me all about the room - the only drawback was no sea view for the accessible room, but Lena did suggest that we check out some of the other rooms to see if they would work when we got there. We were checked in by Kathy - who was really friendly and engaging - she happily offered to show us a room at the front, the Wellington, which of course we would have to pay more for since it was an upgrade and also came with breakfast served in the room if we wished. The room is quite simply spectacular, complete with king size bed (and the tv right at the foot of the bed for easy watching), high ceilings and basically a wall of windows/patio doors which give the room a wonderful light, airy feel. We also had a slipper bath on a platform in the bedroom and best of all- what was for us the piece de resistance - a balcony we could walk out onto with the ocean about thirty feet away from us! The balcony had a picnic table, bench seating and a wall mounted heater which meant we could sit out there on the chilly, damp afternoon we arrived and watch the world go by with a gin and tonic from the bar......just wonderful. The bathroom is also bright and well appointed with two sinks and a refreshingly powerful shower, lots of premium toiletries, big fluffy towels and plenty of space for our own toiletries. There were bathrobes for us in the closet with lots of room and hangers for our clothes and suitcase to be stored. The room also had a heathy supply of tea and coffee etc as well as water ( still and sparkling). The only fault we found with the room we had was the door to the room is a tad short.....so there is a sizeable gap at the bottom which meant the light from the hallway as well as noise in the hall from other guests might be problematic; we remedied this by using the spare blanket provided in the closet as a draught excluder. The room was quite expensive for mid week, mid season( even though we did get a bit of a deal) and the hotel wasn't full by any means....but it was so worth it to sit on the balcony, watch the ocean and our room was truly brilliant. We did take advantage of the offer to have breakfast in our room and breakfast is the only aspect of our stay at the hotel with which we found fault and which could do with a little improvement (use better sausages both meat and vegetarian, make sure mushrooms are cleaned properly before cooking) but on the plus side we figured that the hash-brown was home made and much nicer than the ones typically served. Staff at the hotel were truly accommodating, professional and friendly - we felt really well taken care of and will definitely return and recommend to colleagues.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wellington so probably any of the rooms that boast a sea view balcony would be of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel has gone through a facelift in recent years and the comfortable rooms are a satisfying blend of modern decor and retained features. The hotel seems to rely on its bar service while the restaurant was seemingly in darkness throughout the evening. The bar food was at best mediocre and the only obvious weak aspect of an otherwise enjoyable stay. Reception staff were welcoming but that apart, hotel staff were at times noticeably absent lending the place a rather abandoned feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.