We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allotment

Allotment
119 High Street, Deal CT14 6BB, England
01304 371719
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Deal
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Organic, Coffee Shop, British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Chanced upon this place whilst exploring Deal - first thought there were only a few seats on the pavement, but investigation revealed a small seating area behind the counter and a further small courtyard beyond that.
There was a good selection available on the menu - most locally sourced - including daily specials.
We had a 'Grilled Goat's Cheese Salad' and an 'Allotment Brunch', consisting of eggs-on-ham-on-cheese-on-toast. It was quiet when we visited and service was "relaxed"; I suspect they may be quite pushed if they were full, as there is quite a small kitchen.
There was a good selection of distinctive produce available to buy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A gorgeous little gem of a place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I just keep going back. I have enjoyed breakfast, lunch, bits to buy. The food is so fresh and excellent quality. Really nice staff and wifi to use . I highly recommend The Allotment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were staying in Deal for the week and popped into the Allotment for light breakie. Fresh, delicious, very good service and nicely appointed cafe. Seating out front but also a back garden. Located near to the 'old town' so perfect stop before hitting the vintage shops.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch last week. Had lovely Goats Cheese Salad in cafe out the back. Service friendly and attentive. Well worth visiting

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped here for a spot of lunch with some friends and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food at a reasonable price.

The cafe area (to the rear of the shop) is a little dark, but on the whole it was an enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allotment also viewed

 

Been to Allotment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allotment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.