We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Club

The Dining Club
69 Middle Street, Deal CT14 6HP, England
01304 373569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Deal
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent high quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently came here with my family (my first time, not theirs though) for an evening 5 course dinner. The idea of this restaurant is that their serve various themed lunches or dinners (not every day) with a set meal (plus vegetarian alternative) and every now and then members receive upcoming menus.

We the meal we had was fantastic. The first course was a "Quail Scotch Egg", a homemade scotch egg using a Quail's egg which was very good. This was followed by a lobster bisque with homemade bread, which was good. Then we had a smoked garlic sausage salad with croutons.

After all this, came the main, which was in my opinion the best dish. We had roasted pheasant with a rabbit and chicken torchon, choucroute and lyonnaise potatoes with a nice girolles jus. This main dish was FANTASTIC. The pheasant was served on the bone, and was so incredibly well cooked that the meat just fell off the bone, and was just so tender. The skin was left on, and was amazingly crisp too. Also despite being on the bone, there was plently of meat. This was really a top quality main dish.

It is important to note, that my vegetarian sister also had a very good meal, with the vegetarian alternatives being also thoughtful and cooked to a high standard.

After all this, came dessert. It was a blueberry pancakes with chocolate sorbet (a very interesting sorbet indeed!).

The most amazing thing really, is that the whole meal was cooked by a single chef. The dining club seats 40, and all the food is cooked fresh, and made to the highest quality. The man is obviously very skilled indeed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Went here for afternoon tea. Had four savouries, all scrumptious, followed by scones and cream and ended with four wonderful desserts. All of this was washed down with lashings of Earl Grey tea. Another superb event from Scott and Suzanne.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Really excellent food, pleasant surroundings, warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our first visit to the Dining Club - for a lunch - and we were eager to see what this slightly unusual restaurant would offer. It did not disappoint!

Firstly to book you have to be a member (but @£5 a year, hardly a problem - and only one person in a household needs to join). Then the restaurant is not open every day - about 3 or 4 times a week is normal, and one has to book (advice is 3 weeks or so beforehand), giving one's menu choice (meat/fish or vegetarian) at the time of booking. Nor does the restaurant sell alcohol (htough one can bring one's own for a small corkage) - it does sell a wide variety of soft drinks, however.

But if one accepts these points (and you really should) what you get, based on our expereince, is food of the highest quality served with a smile in smart and pleasant surroundings. After a nice little appetiser of melon balls in truffle oil with ham, we had a gorgeous poached chicken with pistachios and cep mushrooms in a butternut squash veloute, then a main of slow roast lamb with a potato terrine and courgettes and Swiss chard, ending with a truly delicious dessert of Chocolate Terrine, Cocoa mousse and Cappucino granita.

All this food is prepared by the chef on the premises in a kitchen smaller than our bathroom - incredible. A truly wonderful meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“All other resturants in Deal pale in comparison.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Dining Club should be number one.

I've eaten at a lot of the local resturants, and have immensely enjoyed many of them. But dining at the Dining club is in a league all on it's own when you pitch it against other eateries in the area.

This was our first meal here, and I'm sure it's one I'm going to compare and contrast all other meals to from now on. I honestly can't remember the last time ate such a well balanced, flavourful, beautiful meal.

We had the "August lunch", which was four courses for £17.50. Phenomenal value for the qaulity and quantity.


The appetizer was an amuse bouch of sorts- watermelon, mint & truffle oil (wth iberico ham for the meat eaters.) It was light, refreshing and daintily presented.

The starter for the meateaters was poached chicken with sautéd cep mushrooms, pistachios, infused oil & butternut velouté. For me, the vegetarian, the chicken was substituted with a poached egg. Both versions were served with handmade sourdough bread.
And wow. Just wow. The flavours were incredible! Moreish and utterly, utterly delightful they mingled and exploded on the tongue. The bread was dense and spongey, but incredibly light and just lovely. I have never had such a exquisite dish with wonderful taste combinations and balance.

The main for the meateaters was slow roasted lamb in rosemary jus, with a terrine of tarragon potatos, swiss chard and courgette ribbons. I had a slow roasted aubergine in place of the lamb, and the addition of olive butter sauce. My God, it was so succulent, rich and melted beautifully. It was just a wonderful example of exemplary kitchen skills. A wonderful portion size, and the presentation was delightful on the eyes.

Dessert is usually my favourite part of the meal, and it was just fantastic. A gingerbread, dark chocolate ganache and white chocolate terrine. Cappaccino granita. Cocoa mousse. And a caramel shard. It was sublime. There really aren't words to describe the skill required to execute such quality.

When you consider the price, the value is inexplicable; the portion size generous, the presentation emaculate, and the taste- superb!

The chef was very friendly and happy to chat to his customers, and the waitress we had was also incredibly friendly and likeable.

Easily the best resturant I have any memory of dining at, not simply the best in Kent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Deal Dining Club has all the positives and no negatives for me. The food is stunning, atmosphere is relaxed, fun and friendly as are the staff. I'd go every week if my diary allowed. A must to try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Club also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.