We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Malvern Guesthouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Malvern Guesthouse
Save
You added The Malvern Guesthouse to your Saves list
5 - 7 Ranelagh Road, Deal CT14 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Deal B&B and Inns
Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A comfortable place for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was billeted here by the local folk club so didn't choose it myself.
However, it was fine for one night. The single room I had was small and you had to move the bed a little to get into the wardrobe! I lay on the bed for a while and thought how they might re-arrange the room so this didn't happen. I couldn't see any other way of doing it! Shame really.
One thing that did shock me (pleasantly) was the room's mini-bar. You more usually only get these in the bigger hotels. Nice touch, even though I didn't use it.
The shower was fine and the facilities thereof adequate.
Breakfast was another (again pleasant) surprise as I don't think I've ever come across the range of foods that were available in a B&B before. I was tempted by the smoked salmon and scrambled egg but went for the 'lighter breakfast' instead. It was fine.
Pauline, who owns the place with her husband Derek, served the breakfasts and is a very welcoming and friendly lady.
I'm sure the double rooms are more spacious but I didn't bother to find out as I'm unlikely to stay there again.
No problem for one night especially as I managed to park nearby. Parking IS a problem here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Malvern on Saturday night nice lady who ran the b& b we had the room at the top of the house. Bedroom and bathroom separate rooms but this wasn't a problem.
We were going out for dinner so had a shower it took along time to heat up then went cold then to hot.
Traffic during the night was very noisy so didn't sleep well so then in the morning went to take a shower again but this time no hot water tried for 15 minutes but nothing. We complained to the owner but she said there was nothing she could do.
So no shower and couldn't wash my hair so not happy.
Breakfast was ok.
Very disappointed that she only took £10 of the room so won't be staying again and would advice to check everything works before unpacking your suitcase.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Situated on the main one way route into Deal..this was very noisy ALL the time. Parking is a serious issue- there isnt any, the nearest place was 10 mins walk away on the roadside.
The room was ok..pity its not up to the same standard as the bathroom which was sheer luxury! We stayed in room 10, the bed creaked very loudly every time we moved so sleep went out of the window - which incidentally was misted up the whole time as the DG unit had gone. Breakfast was ok if a tad greasy...but a wonderful selection none the less...service here was very good they just need to address the bed and soundproof the rooms...we could hear the people in the next room very clearly. We won't be staying here again and I would seriously advise people about the parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding weekend and had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights.
Lovely guest house and the breakfasts were superb with so much to choose from.
The owner and staff could not do enough for you and made us so welcome.
Our only problem was the parking but it was the carnival week, and even then we were given lots of helpful advise.
On our last morning we had to collect our vehicle from the wedding venue and they were even kind enough to take us to it at no extra cost.

Thanks for a fabulous time!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a rear one as the front of the property gets lots of traffic passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from the malvern hotel in Deal. The owners are lovely people. The location of the hotel is superb with the Castle just a couple of streets away and the beach with the fishing boats at the end of the road. The town centre is about 3 minutes away with some nice shops and bars. The breakfasts menu is extensive and the food cooked really well.The room was priced sensibly.
However, Our room (4) could have been warmer, I know it is November but that is what central heating is for. In our opinion the room would have been more suitable as a single. The bed was against the fireplace and was difficult to navigate around. The mattress was a little thin for a bed with wooden slats instead of springs. The fridge, which was a little noisy, was well stocked with items that were slightly expensive. Finally the toilet pump was noisy when pumping waste away.
All in all the hotel is really nice but just one or two changes would make a big difference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a beautiful guest house, beautiful room, lovely decor, and a very warm welcome. I felt very well looked after here. Breakfast was really good, in a very comfortable room with newspapers available.
I was in an attic room, with an emergency exit linking to the attic room in the adjoining house (also part of the same hotel). There was little noise reduction through this emergency door, so I could hear everything that the neighbours said, but realised at breakfast, they did speak in rather loud voices! The hotel was so great in every other way that I forgave it this small negative.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just returned home from a two day stay at The Malvern Guesthouse in Deal, Kent. The guesthouse is centrally located only a two minute walk away from the castle and a 5 minute walk from the train station. However it is located on the busy one way system which causes a problem for parking. When we arrived we could not find anywhere to park and much of the area is permit holders only spaces. We ended up parking on Marine Road as recommended by the B&B owners, this is next to the castle and is free to park with no restrictions. My family who came down later had no trouble parking and were lucky enough to get a space straight away. The owners were extremely helpful and saved us a parking space outside the B&B but unfortunately it was a little small!

We stayed in room no. 4, a modernly decorated double bedroom at the front of the property costing £70 per night. The room was newly renovated so its decor was lovely and the bed was nice and comfy. Upon arrival we found a nicely stocked minibar with chocolate, wine, spirits, beer, crisps and biscuits. These were a little expensive but not as overpriced as some hotel minibars can be. The fridge made some odd rumbling noises every now and again but these were more of a source of intrigue rather than irritation and didn't disturb us. The going rate was about 75p for a bar of chocolate, £3 for a can of lager and £1 for a can of coke. We had a hositality tray stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate free of charge and had a couple of welcome chocolates upon arrival. The hotel guide and information was really informative and gave some good advice on what to see in Canterbury, which is about 30 minutes drive away or an hour on the train including a change of trains at Dover. I would have found it nice to have more information on Deal itself including the pubs and restaurants to go to however the hostess offered this information up happily.

The hosts were lovely and the breakfast was amazing. We had a good choice of about 20 different types of cooked breakfast in addition to fruit, croissants, yoghurts and cereal. I had the eggs benedict which was lovely and my partner enjoyed his full english breakfast which was rather large. I would not argue with the advertisement that this guesthouse provides one of the best breakfasts in Kent!

The only problem we encountered during our stay was the nosie. The hotel is located on the one-way system that much of the traffic uses to access the deal seafront, including National Express coaches that run throughout the night. Therefore, the noise from the road is quite loud if you are in one of the front rooms. We found the road noise prevented us from opening to windows overnight despite the warmth. Once the windows were closed the noise was minimised but it was still very noisy. We were a little disappointed with this as we had come to peaceful Deal and hoped to get away from the busy streets of Birmingham only to find we were constantly disturbed by traffic noises. I would highly recommend asking for a room at the back of the guesthouse.

The room in general was very noisy as each bedroom has a fire escape that backs onto the second half of the guesthouse. Excellent in an emergency however we could constantly hear individuals walking up and down the stairs and chatting. In addition whenever the individuals upstairs walked about we could hear their footsteps quite loudly through the ceiling and our light fixture was loose so this was rattling whenever the guests upstairs moved. This was annoying when it woke us up early in the morning when we were wanting a bit of a lie in. The toilets were noisy also and you could hear these throughout the guesthouse. Otherwise this was a lovely guesthouse, however we would maybe think twice about booking again if we wanted a quiet and peaceful weekend away from the noise of the city.

Room Tip: Request for a room at the back of the hotel to prevent noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malvern Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guesthouse

Address: 5 - 7 Ranelagh Road, Deal CT14 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guesthouse Deal, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malvern Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.