We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, well presented, good value meals..THUMBS UP GUYS !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar
29 Beach Street, Deal CT14 6HY, England
01304 374338
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
Restaurant details
Walmer, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty, well presented, good value meals..THUMBS UP GUYS !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A tad unsure whether to enter, as the restaurant was empty when we were passing bye.
Actually a few more came in just after us..perhaps they didn't want to be the first in ha ha.

I had a glass of beer and my son had coke to start...nicely chilled.

I ordered a prawn and crab salad, served with brown bread and butter.
My son Tony had a beef burger with fried onions and tomato, salad garnish and chips.
My crab salad was super, as normally i'm still a tad hungry afterwards, but not here..it was so tasty.
Tony is a pain to take out anywhere, but was amazed to see an empty plate and remarked on the chips..thick and crispy !!
I had a raspberry sorbet to finish off with and Tony had a chocolate fudge cake.

By the time we left the place was two thirds full and was happy to say it was a good decision to enter...somebody had to be first lol.

Great food, nice time. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best home cooked food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We often visit the Waterfront and can honestly say it's 'tops'.
Fair to say the front of house staff vary, but it is at present very very good, friendly and efficient.
Their chef Mark (although we very rarely get to chat with), is well trained and prepares amazing dishes. We often hear his laughter coming from the kitchen, which to us proves yet again he loves his work.
Horrid review about xmas day ? Strange, as we were there !! Perhaps they should have gone to the Sir Norman Wisdom, as it's cheap !!
Great food, hot plates, value for money and always new 'special's on offer..keep it up Mark.
We love yer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gone downhill in 6 months. Shame really”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I returned to the waterfront, after the amazing food we'd had before, and what we were confronted with was an absolute farce! We were waiting around 5 minutes for anyone to come and serve us. There were no front of house staff at all, and it was truly appalling.
In our own stupidity we returned for a Sunday lunch, hoping this was just a weekday blip, to be greeted by the loudest, most vulgar man I have ever met, overly friendly, loud and obnoxious, poor service. I truly preferred having no front of house staff to him!
The sunday roast, however, was still good. The pork as good as ever, it's a shame it's come to this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olstallywag, Chef at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Oh dear..
So sorry to hear that your Sunday Lunch wasn't up to scratch..I feel it must have been a blip, as we were having staff problems at the time.
We are on the ball and would love to see you again..let me (Mark) know and i'll ensure you're spoilt

Sincerely Mark (Chef), Waterfront Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

First let me say that the service was efficient and friendly. No complaints there. So the Chrimbo lunch is being judge on value for money at £55/head.

This sum included a champagne cocktail and canapés. The cocktail was a single offering and the very nice canapés were presented two or three times.

Next we all had the chicken liver pate starter. For £55 there should have been enough pate to cover the four pieces of toast melba. Still it tasted OK and was accompanied by a small salad.

Next came the sorbet or soup choice. We opted for soup (carrot & coriander). We wish we'd taken the sorbet. If there was any coriander in the soup then it was drowned in taste by the smoky barbecue flavour that wasn't mentioned.

Then the main course. This was a plateful of turkey breast (3 or 4 slices, but too dry), a ball of stuffing, a coupe of roast potatoes and a spongy but unnecessary Yorkshire Pudding. Gravy was provided in a separate jug and there were to bowls of respectable cooked and presented vegetables, including parsnips and Brussel sprouts.

There was a dessert course of a delicious Christmas Pudding and warm cream sauce, plus the usual coffee etc.

We don't normally do Christmas lunch in a restaurant and if we do it again, it'll have to better than this. As I said, the staff were cheerful, the atmosphere was fine, the table was nice and large, the chairs comfortable. But the food, whilst not a disaster by any measure, should have been better, particularly the Turkey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a wonderful meal, overlooking the sea. Beautiful menu, and the waitress was very attentive, despite the busy restaurant, and being alone. The Duck breast was very tender, and the Pork Sizzler a show to be savored. We went back again the following week, had the same waitress, and she remembered us. Very friendly staff, amazing atmosphere, great food. All round good time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.