We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granville Inn - Just O.K.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Granville Inn

The Granville Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Granville Inn to your Saves list
The Granville Inn
314 East Broadway, Granville, OH 43023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Granville B&B and Inns
Dallas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Granville Inn - Just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I took my son to Granville for a recruiting trip to Denison. I was told the Granville and Buxom Inn were the only two places in town to stay (a Courtyard by Marriott is apparently just a few minutes away). I stayed at the Granville Inn. It is in much need of updating. For example, the T.V. in the room had to be over 10 years old. I opted to go to the local pub to watch the Cowboys. The rooms are not much to speak of, but they were clean. The bar in the restaurant is good. The restaurant was pretty good and much better than the Buxom Inn across the street. The continental breakfast was a bit space and I opted for a diner. I would stay here again, just because of convenience, but if I was looking for a better hotel experience, I would opt elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

A group of us went there for Christmas Appreciation Lunch. The soup was very good, but the meal was horrible. The french fries were cold and also the fish on the bun was cold. This used to be a very good place to eat. Much better than the restaurant across the street but it has really gone down. The new owners have not done this place justice.

Room Tip: This was a local company outing so can't critique the sleeping rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My sister and I were traveling from NC to MI. Granville, OH was a good stopping place. On the way up, we stayed at a lovely B&B in Granville. On the way back, we stayed at The Granville Inn. All of the staff (including check-in to restaurant) were very pleasant and helpful. The dinner in the pub was excellent and the Chocolate Tart with Peanut Butter/Caramel was the best dessert I have eaten in a long time. The room was a traditional queen and had everything that we needed for a comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011 via mobile

Could say alot but honestly it's all been said before.
Outdated, cheap linens, the most uncomfortable bed ever, mold in the tiny bathroom and feel really bad for the guest with allergies in the room next door (heard her sneezing all night!)
Folks who bought this place in 2003 need to put some effort into the rooms and make this a go to place, or just make it a restaurant

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Granville Inn is a beautiful historic Inn in a town where there aren't many other choices. We paid $160 a night for one of the largest rooms (too MUCH!). For what they are it should be about $89. The room was nice and comfortable but the kitchenette area could have used a complete redo. The bathrooms are all raised about 8 inches off the floor (piping?) and small, even in our very large room. The ceilings are high, the linen quality is exceptional and the bed was very comfortable. It was all very clean. The hallways were squeaky and the carpet in the room and hall did need replacing. The wallpaper in our room is 'era' style and a bit much. Simplicity would be better. Breakfast was LaQuinta Inn style with danish, cereal, fruit, coffee/tea and juice. Nothing special but better than nothing in this quiet town. The staff was helpful and very friendly. I am sure it takes an enormous amount of money to keep the Granville going. However, it could be an absolute 'must stay' for miles around if they fixed it up, added a bed and breakfast style hot cooked breakfast with the room and maybe a pool. I wouldn't hesitate to pay $160 with that. It's not that bad but outside of the fabulous architecture it was just okay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovid, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Accommodations were made for me as I was in Granville on business. From the website, this looks like a charming victorian inn. Upon arrival, however, it was immediately evident that nothing has been updated since the 1980s. Dining room chairs are "shot", the menu very odd and incoherent, food was blah and service was less than adequate. Our guest room did not have a tub, only a shower, and there was no thermostat to regulate heat/air. Window did open, but over the kitchen!
If it was clean and had a charming character, I could forgive the dated and tired decor, but it was dirty and uncomfortable. A little bleach would go a very long way on the tiles.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I traveled to this Inn from Columbus for a relaxing kids-free getaway. Our experience was horrendous. Think twice before spending a night in this mismanaged dump.

We are very easy to satisfy customers and don't write negative reviews lightly. Sure, the bathtub faucet coughed up clumps of black mold-like gunk, but maybe the plumbing is old and they haven't had a chance to update it. Yes, none of the overhead lights in the ceiling fan would turn on but we could see just fine because the ridiculous thin window shades allowed the outside lights to keep our room nice and bright. We even got past the fact that the doors to each adjoining room were so flimsy that you could hear the televisions and the quite conversations of other guests. What we couldn't put up with was the deafening wall-vibrating music and drunken yelling that the hotel staff *refused* do do anything about.

At around 10:00pm we called down to the front desk to ask why there was music and shouting that was so loud that it was literally making the walls and furniture vibrate. We were told that there was a 'social club' meeting downstairs and that they had a live band. We were assured that the music and chaos should end soon. The employee went on to clarify that "soon" meant 11:30pm. Despite our pleas to at least have the volume lowered nothing was done. As 11:00pm approached I walked downstairs to the front desk to ask them, once again, to please do something about the noise. I explained that we selected their Inn because it was advertised as a great place for a quite and relaxing getaway. It was never advertised as the concert hall / dive bar that it was clearly being run as that night. The employees expressed sympathy with our predicament but said that nothing could be done, not even asking the band to lower the volume, without the Inn's owner's permission. They went on to explain that they had called the owner but had not reached him yet so they were powerless to do anything. Finally, at 11:00pm, we packed up our things, went to the front desk and told them were were leaving and to not charge us for the night. We then went across the street and checked in to the Buxton Inn (which turned out to be a wonderful place) where we finally were able to get a good night's sleep.

The management of the Granville "Inn" clearly fails to realize that you can not run one establishment for two mutually exclusive purposes. For instance, a business can run a shelter for rabid dogs, or it can be a day care center - but not both. Here, the Granville Inn can choose to either be an "Inn", or an all night concert hall for wild drunken parties - but not both. Until the management decides what the the Granville Inn *is*, would-be customers intending to sleep there ought to avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Inn

Address: 314 East Broadway, Granville, OH 43023
Location: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Granville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Granville Hotel Granville
The Granville Inn Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.