We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kent break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cranbrook
Spiez, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Kent break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cranbrook is a pleasant little village and the George is right in the middle on the main street, very easy to find. An historic building, with stairs and corridors leading to a number of very different rooms. I chose a superior room, it was at the back of the building and very quiet. The room was fairly big and well-equipped. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order. My only problem was that my reservation had somehow been incorrectly entered, so that no-one actually serviced my room during my stay! Reception apologised for this when I checked out.

Room Tip: £10 extra per night for a superior room seemed like good value to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    17
    18
    11
See reviews for
20
77
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In march we booked into the delightful crimson room for a special occasion.
Having spent the day in the pouring rain at go ape, we were given a very warm welcome, and shown to an impressive room.
The gentleman on reception, then knocked at the door and provided us with food menus, informing us that room service was not running at that time of day, but if we would like any food, he would be back in 10 minutes to take our order down for us, and bring it back to our room, initiative that was much appreciated by a very cold and hungry couple.
The bathroom and room was amazing, with great facilities and an abundance of fluffy towels.
upon going down stairs for a walk, the same gentleman offered us a wealth of local knowledge, and updated us on any hotel info. He apologised in the delay for this, but stated owing to us being rather windswept, said he thought it best to let us settle in (and to be honest we were a bit of a state) Small gems of service like this are a rarity these days.
We then ate in the restaurant, which was amazing from the wine to the dessert. The rugby was on in the bar at the time, so noise was a little more than I was happy with, but the hotel manager quickly resolved this
A restful night’s sleep was followed a very enjoyable breakfast, with plenty of choice and good quality.
The only thing out of place in the whole trip was that my egg yolks were not runny as requested. But I can very much live with that and look forward to returning.
My biggest gripe these days is poor customer service, and the staff her are so wonderful and informative its verging on a bye gone era.

Room Tip: splurge on the crimson room, very much worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I live locally to The George Hotel however have never eaten there, I wish I had come sooner. The food was fantastic! The menu had a lot of choice and offered an interesting and out of the ordinary dining experience. You won't find the usual steak and hand cut chips on this menu which is so refreshing.

On arrival the bar and seating areas are well presented, they give a cosy yet sophisticated feel.

Unfortunately the waitressing staff really let The George down. Most don't seem to know what’s going on and where they are! The presentation of the waitresses was poor, for an establishment with a uniform you shouldn't be able to go too wrong however they appeared messy.

Bar Staff however were a little better, all presented really well however had some confusion with charging drinks … a small matter which was rectified however done so by shouting from one side of the bar to the other – a little uncomfortable!

The Restaurant Manager was ridiculous he didn’t seem to look after anybody in the restaurant and quite frankly appeared awkward and inexperienced.

Lastly it's not ideal for the staff to be setting up for breakfast when guests are still enjoying their evening meal! Disappointingly the staff just seemed to want to get everything over and done with.

Despite the staff The George really is worth a visit just for the food! You won’t be disappointed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a fantastic location for any tourist visiting the area. You have easy access to Tunbridge Wells, Hasting or even Maidstone if you wanted. Sites closer to the hotel you have Goudhurst, Sissinghurst and Tenterden. Excellent service throughout the hotel.
The bedrooms are very clean and I can recommend this lovely small hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The Mandarin room was great value for the price we paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights and could not fault it. Strongly recommend The George Hotel to anyone. From the warm welcome on arrival to the great breakfast on the day of departure. We managed to have dinner in the restaurant and the service and food was very good. We felt like home and will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed midweek - Thursday - and amazingly busy. Testament to the atmosphere and service. We had the Crimson room which was beautiful and well worth a little bit extra. Hadn't booked a table for dinner but were happily accommodated in the bar. Had a very reasonably priced meal from the bistro menu and it was more than adequate. Ordered extra chips in view of an earlier comment about the frugal portions but it wasn't needed. Off street parking which is always a bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although living in spittting distance of kent, we deceided to take a three day break in the Weald of the county. Cranbrook and other local towns are beautiful place and as their locations means a quick drive but with so many destinations to choose from, a couple of days at The George Hotel seemed appropriate. It's a lovely hotel, there is a bit of roughness around the edges but that gives it all the more character. They have a restaurant and a brasserie - both fufilling their purpose, the brasserie food being more simple and for the hungry walker, somewhat more filling. Our room, Aurum, was high ceilinged but well furnished and all things that needed to work did so. We reckoned that The George Hotel is more suitable for couples and families with adult children, not because staff were unfriendly but more that the hotel is destination for locals who fancy a pint or four and with this comes the banter of any typical bar. I slept, so did my wife, but would a five year old? I see another comment suggesting they do ;0). Anyway, well done George Hotel, you were a great hub for our break!

Room Tip: The car park is cramped but doable. Perhaps ask for a room not so close to where revellers sit?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cranbrook
The George Hotel Cranbrook, Kent, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.